Home Sport GAA County Final Memory: Colt claim intermediate hurling glory in 2008

County Final Memory: Colt claim intermediate hurling glory in 2008

Colt celebrate after winning the Intermediate Hurling Championship final at O'Moore Park. Picture: Alf Harvey.

Colt 0-16 Borris-in-Ossory 2-6
2008 Laois IHC Final

The Colt hurlers lost more than fair share of intermediate finals in the 2000s so when they finally got over the line in 2008 it was understandable that there was a considerable outpouring of emotion.

They got the better of Borris-in-Ossory in the final on a day when Chris Murray helped himself to nine of their 16 points.

Under the management of former Laois great John Taylor, they put to rest four previous final defeats to win here by four points.

Anthony Dunne was the team captain and was joined on the day by his brothers Eddie, Padraig and John.

For Borris-in-Ossory, who were without the injured Matthew Whelan, then on his way to establishing himself as a regular Laois senior, their day would come 12 months later when they’d claim the intermediate title.

As Alf Harvey’s photos show, the Colt celebrations were joyous.

You can check out a full selection of them below.

SCORERS – Colt: Chris Murray 0-9 (seven frees), Shane Mullins 0-2, Anthony Dunne, Colin Ryan, Padraig Dunne, Gearoid Parkinson and Dan Dalton 0-1 each; Borris-in-Ossory: Martin Coss 1-1 (0-1 free), Neil Foyle 1-1 (0-1 sideline cut), Frankie Cullinan 0-2, Darran Abraham and Rory Moore 0-1 each

COLT: Brian McDermott; Enda Phelan, Michael Grant, John Stackpoole; Ger Doolin, Jimmy Farrell, Brian Keegan; Anthony Dunne, Gearoid Parkinson; Shane Mullins, Carl Grant, Colin Ryan; Chris Murray, Padraig Dunne, Dan Dalton. Subs: Colm Kavanagh for C Ryan, Mark McDonald for Dalton, Eddie Dunne for S Mullins

BORRIS-IN-OSSORY: Trevor Moore; Cathal O’Donnell, Tony Doran, Ronan Kelly; Kevin Finlay, Darren Abraham, Enda Kelly; John Kavanagh, Martin Coss; Frankie Cullinan, Timmy Finlay, Adrian Cullinan; Eoghan Whelan, Neil Foyle, Rory Moore. Subs: Eric Abraham for A Cullinan, Denis Egan for Kavanagh, Oliver Quinlan for Finlay.

REFEREE: Anthony Stapleton (Rathdowney-Errill)

SEE ALSO – Check out more stories from 2008 here

SEE ALSO – Check out more from our County Final Memory series here