Home Sport GAA Barrowhouse up and running in junior championship as Killeshin record big win...

Barrowhouse up and running in junior championship as Killeshin record big win over Ballylinan

Barrowhouse 0-18 Errill 0-5
Laois JFC ‘A’ Round 1

Barrowhouse and Errill haven’t met in too many GAA fixtures over the years but Barrowhouse made the long journey across the county a worthwhile one this evening as they recorded an impressive win over last year’s JFC ‘B’ champions.

Fergal Murphy, Emmet Malone and the Baldwin twins were all in fine form in the first half as Barrowhouse opened up a 0-10 to 0-2 lead by the break. Matt Meehan and David Poynton got Errill’s early scores.

Debutants Alex Robinson and TJ Burke impressed for Barrowhouse with Burke getting three points from play while captain Emmet Malone had an outstanding game in midfield.

Barrowhouse stayed on top in the second half with only David Poynton scoring for the home side, with two points from frees and one from play.

The win sets Barrowhouse up with a good chance of reaching the knockout stages with group games still to come against Camross and their neighbours St Joseph’s.

Elsewhere this evening, Killeshin had a big 6-16 to 3-8 win over Barrowhouse. Portlaoise and Ballyroan-Abbey meet in the other game in that group tomorrow evening.

SCORERS – Barrowhouse: Fergal Murphy 0-6, J Burke 0-3, Emmet Malone 0-3, Martin Langton, Scott Flynn, Andrew Baldwin, Martin Langton, Eric Mackey 0-1 each. Errill: David Poynton 0-4, Matt Meehan 0-1

BARROWHOUSE: Daire Phelan; Tom McDonald, Tom Paige, Alex Robinson, Martin Murphy, Steven Langton, James Baldwin, Emmet Malone, TJ Burke, Andrew Baldwin, Fergal Murphy, Martin Langton, Scott Flynn, Eric Mackey. Subs: S Thomey for M Langton, M Prior for S Flynn, P Whelan for Mackey, Conor Black for Burke, J Burke for Phelan

ERRILL: Brian Meehan; Dan Bourke, Jack Kelly, Shaun Meehan; John Keane, Jimmy Corrigan, Kevin O’Dea; Eoin Bourke, Jack Foyle; Vinny Cleere, David Poynton, Tadhg Dowling; Patrick Wright, Paddy Purcell, Matt Meehan. Subs: Jack Dowling for O’Dea, Christy Carroll for S Meehan, Colm Meehan for Cleere, Brian Delaney for Foyle.

SEE ALSO – Second-half goals key as The Rock beat Annanough in IFC

SEE ALSO – Whelan gets dramatic winner as Ballyroan-Abbey beat St Joseph’s

Previous articleSecond half goals do the trick as The Rock down Annanough
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Friday, August 7, 2020