Home Sport GAA Keyes leads the way as Colt-Shanahoe stay up and send Mountrath packing

Keyes leads the way as Colt-Shanahoe stay up and send Mountrath packing


Brought to you in association with Telfords, Portlaoise and Mountrath

Colt-Shanahoe 4-17 Mountrath 0-8
Laois Shopping Centre Premier IHC relegation final

Laois’s newest hurling club Colt-Shanahoe have brought the curtain down on their debut season with a thumping win over their neighbours Mountrath this evening in Mountmellick.

The win saves their Premier Intermediate status but sends Mountrath dropping to the third tier of Laois club hurling.

And it was a comprehensive win for Colt-Shanahoe who will de delighted to have ended the season on a high.

Colt-Shanahoe were on top from the start and took a 0-13 to 0-5 lead in at the break.

Rhian Bergin was impeccable from frees in the opening half, hitting eight in total while James and Henry Keyes got two each and Brian McDermott got one.

Mountrath got the first point of the second half but James Keyes then struck for the first of his three second-half goals and while Mountrath traded points with Bergin and Keyes, they missed a penalty just before the second water break and they wouldn’t score again as Colt-Shanahoe burst free in the final quarter.

James Keyes struck for two more goals to complete his hat-trick while Henry got another and a bad day was made worse for Mountrath late on when goalkeeper Scott Hetherington was sent off.

SCORERS – Colt-Shanahoe: James Keyes 3-4, Rhian Bergin 0-10 (frees), Henry Keyes 1-2, Brian McDermott 0-1. Mountrath: Gavin Sydes 0-4, Brandon Russell 0-3, Paddy Williams 0-1.

COLT-SHANAHOE: Thomas Kerwin; Eoghan Brennan, Brian Guilfoyle, Shane Bowe; Robbie Delaney, Dayle Bergin, Gerard Doolan; Dylan Cuddy, Jack Delaney; Henry Keyes, Aaron McGowan, Cian Mofitt; Rhian Bergin, James Keyes, Brian McDermott,

MOUNTRATH: Scott Hetherington; Matthew Rice, Paul Meade, Gearoid Williams; James Tobin, Michael Meade, Aidan Linehan; Cormac O’Keefe; Paddy Williams, Colm Linehan, Gavin Sydes; Dylan Russell, Brandon Russell, Killian Kirwan.

REFEREE: Alan Doheny (Castletown)

SEE ALSO – Dunamaise delighted to open their doors and lift the curtains again

Previous articleTrumera make numerical advantage count to reach IHC final
Next articleFirst blood to Rathdowney-Errill as they see off Borris-Kilcotton in high-scoring intermediate semi-final