Home Sport GAA Laois minor hurlers announce captain, vice-captain and panel ahead of Leinster championship

Laois minor hurlers announce captain, vice-captain and panel ahead of Leinster championship

Noah Quinlan

The Laois minor hurlers have named a 36-man panel for the upcoming Leinster hurling championship which gets underway this weekend.

They are set to take on Offaly in Birr on Saturday at 2pm in Round 1 of the competition.

And ahead of that, manager Liam Dunne from Clough-Ballacolla has also confirmed the captain and vice-captain – as voted for by the players.

Clough-Ballacolla’s Padraig Brennan will captain the side this year and he will be assisted by Borris-Kilcotton’s Noah Quinlan.

The duo are two of 14 players who were on this panel last year – the others being: Daniel Bowe, Padraig Rafter (both Rathdowney-Errill), Joe Corby, Cillian Dunne (both Clough-Ballacolla), Lawson Obular, Sam Quinn (both Abbeyleix), Cian Conroy (Clonaslee), Josh Holmes, Mick O’Brien, Finnian Cuddy (all Mountrath), Philip Tynan (Borris-Kilcotton) and David Dooley (Rosenallis)

Captain Brennan was also the skipper two years ago when this Laois team, as U-15s, defeated Waterford to claim the Arrabawn Shield. 

Defeated county finalists The Harps lead the way with five representatives on this panel while four other clubs come next.

County champions Abbeyleix, Rathdowney-Errill, Clough-Ballacolla and Rosenallis each provide four players on the panel.

Players from Mountrath, Borris-Kilcotton, Castletown, Camross, Portlaoise, Ballinakill, Clonaslee, Ballyfin and Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe make up the remainder meaning that 14 clubs are represented.

The Leinster minor hurling championship was originally to be played in a tiered structure with Laois in A2 alongside Offaly and the winners of Meath and Carlow.

However, instead Laois will play Offaly in Round 1 with the winners facing Kildare or Antrim in a quarter final.

If Liam Dunne’s side win those games, they will then take on Dublin, Westmeath or Carlow in a semi final.


Cody Comerford (The Harps)
Cathal Murphy (The Harps)
Jim O’Connor (The Harps)
Adam Walshe (The Harps)
Daniel Dooley (The Harps)
Lawson Obular (Abbeyleix)
Sam Quinn (Abbeyleix)
Colin Byrne (Abbeyleix)
Liam Kavanagh (Abbeyleix)
Aodh Bowes (Rosenallis)
David Dooley (Rosenallis)
Tom Fennelly (Rosenallis)
Diarmuid Dooley (Rosenallis)
Lochlainn Conway (Clough-Ballacolla)
Padraig Brennan (Clough-Ballacolla) (Captain)
Cillian Dunne (Clough-Ballacolla)
Joe Corby (Clough-Ballacolla)
Ben Campion (Rathdowney-Errill)
Daniel Bowe (Rathdowney-Errill)
James Keegan (Rathdowney-Errill)
Padraig Rafter (Rathdowney-Errill)
Finnian Cuddy (Mountrath)
Josh Holmes (Mountrath)
Michael O’Brien (Mountrath)
Philip Tynan (Borris-Kilcotton)
Noah Quinlan (Borris-Kilcotton) (Vice-Captain)
Aaron Phelan (Castletown)
Jamie Conroy (Castletown)
Jack Phelan (Camross)
Greg Cuddy (Camross)
Barry Fitzpatrick (Portlaoise)
DJ White (Portlaoise)
Eoin Connolly (Ballyfin)
Cian Conroy (Clonaslee)
Brian Duggan (Ballinakill)
Conor Fitzpatrick (Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe)

LMHC R1 – Offaly v Laois – Oct 17 at 2pm in Tullamore
LMHC Q-F – Laois/Offaly v Antrim/Kildare – TBC at 2pm Oct 24
LMHC S-F – Laois/Offaly/Antrim/Kildare v Dublin/Westmeath/Carlow – TBC at 2pm Oct 31
LMHC Final – TBC Nov 15
All-Ire MHC Final – Dec 5/6

SEE ALSO – EXPLAINED: Where things stand for the seven remaining Laois inter-county teams

Previous articleWinning streak continues for Laois trainer following Dundalk success
Next articleWarm tributes paid following sad passing of beloved Laois nurse
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.