Home Sport GAA Laois senior football team named for Westmeath Division 2 clash

Laois senior football team named for Westmeath Division 2 clash

Laois GAA have announced the starting team for this weekend’s senior football match.

Mike Quirke’s Laois senior footballers are away to Westmeath at 2pm on Saturday in Round 6 of Division 2 of the National League.

The Laois footballers last played seven months ago against Kildare and their team shows eight changes from that day.

Out of the team come Gearoid Hanrahan (no longer on the panel), Sean O’Flynn, Paddy O’Sullivan, Sean Byrne (no longer on the panel), Eoin Lowry, Damien O’Connor (no longer on the panel), Ross Munnelly and Colm Murphy (no longer on the panel).

While in their place comes Eoin Buggie, Colm Begley, Mark Barry, Brian Byrne, Diarmuid Whelan and Gary Walsh – along with Gareth Dillon and Alan Farrell who joined the panel in recent weeks having not been previously part of it.

It will be a first start for Ballyroan-Abbey forward Whelan.

Laois senior football: Niall Corbet; Trevor Collins, Mark Timmons, Robbie Pigott; Alan Farrell, Colm Begley, Eoin Buggie; Kieran Lillis, John O’Loughlin; Gareth Dillon, Mark Barry, Brian Byrne; Diarmuid Whelan, Evan O’Carroll, Gary Walsh,

The game is being played behind closed doors tomorrow – but you can follow all the action from Mullingar on the LaoisToday Live Blog.

SEE ALSO – GAA Diary: Zach, Cheddar, Sugrue and minor hurlers on TV