Home Sport GAA All you need to know as the Laois minor footballers face Carlow...

All you need to know as the Laois minor footballers face Carlow in Leinster quarter final

Laois minor footballers - Paul Dargan

The Laois minor footballers take on Carlow in the Leinster championship quarter final this afternoon.

Here we guide you through what you need to know:

When, where, what time?

The game throws in at 12.30pm in MW Hire O’Moore Park, Portlaoise.

Though like all games at the moment, it’s completely behind closed doors so supporters can’t attend.  Laois TV, through Leinster GAA, will show the game.

Team news

Laois minor football boss Mark Bates named his starting team to face Carlow on Thursday.

With no league, this will be the first competitive game that this team will have played together.

Laois lost in the semi final last year to eventual champions Kildare and five of the players who started that game are going to be involved this afternoon.

Captain Simon Fingleton, vice-captain Colin Dunne, Oisin Hooney, PJ Ward and Shaun Fitzpatrick are all in the starting 15 and manager Bates will be hoping their experience at this level will aid the rest of the team.

Ballyroan-Abbey are minor champions but the aforementioned Fitzpatrick is the only player from that club who is named to start.

Defeated finalists Portlaoise have the highest representation with four starters and the team is listed below:

LAOIS: Sam Krebs (Courtwood); Darragh Slevin (Portarlington), Ben Reddin (Portlaoise), Josh Hogan (Portlaoise); Simon Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska), Kian Lawlor (Graiguecullen), Ben Dempsey (Portlaoise); Conor Kelly (Graiguecullen), Conor Heffernan (Killeshin); Oisin Hooney (St Joseph’s), Colin Dunne (Arles-Killeen), PJ Ward (Portarlington); Kieran O’Donnell (Portlaoise), Ross Meredith (Emo), Shaun Fitzpatrick (Ballyroan-Abbey)

Carlow have named their team and not one of the players who took on Laois last year is on the starting 15.

Bryan McMahon and Oisin Doyle would both have been on the Knockbeg U-16 team that reached the All-Ireland final two years ago.

CARLOW: Jason Brennan; Evan Gorry, Eoghan Byrne, Dara Curran; Padhraic Byrne, Adam Johnson, Ciaran Timmons; Stephen Smyth, Conor O’Neill; Oisin Dillon, Bryan McMahon, Fionn McCaffrey; Cillian Fagan, Oisin Doyle, Kieran Nolan

What is the recent history between the teams?

Laois and Carlow have actually met in each of the last two years – with both matches in group games.

And on both occasions, Laois needed very late points to snatch draws.

In 2018, Sean Michael Corcoran’s free helped grab a draw with Carlow

While then in 2019, Ballyroan-Abbey’s Brian Whelan was the hero as this time it was his late free that salvaged a point.

A draw will not be the result this afternoon as the game will go all the way to penalties if required.

What will happen after this game?

If Laois win, they will face either Meath or Westmeath in the semi final.

If they lose, they are out.

SEE ALSO – Big occasion for Masterson brothers as they’re both named to start for Connacht against European giants Racing 92

Previous articleLaois County Council Cathaoirleach encourages everyone to ‘shop local’ and ‘stay safe’ this Christmas
Next articleCalls for safety works to be carried out at ‘second most dangerous bend’ in Camross
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.