Home Gaelic Football Club Football UPDATED: Laois senior football clubs confirm managers for 2021

UPDATED: Laois senior football clubs confirm managers for 2021

Padraig Clancy, Paddy Dunne, Greg Ramsbottom and Shane Courtney are among the managers for 2021

All 16 Laois senior football clubs have confirmed their managers for the 2021 season.

6 of the 16 clubs have appointed new managers from the 2020 season.

We already brought news of Killeshin’s appointment of Christy Bolger, Michael Dempsey replacing Joe Higgins in St Joseph’s, former Laois selector Eoin Kearns going to O’Dempsey’s, Annanough’s Rory Stapleton taking over Arles-Killeen and Eddie Kinsella returning to Courtwood.

And now the latest Laois senior club to announce a new manager is The Heath.

They have appointed Kildare native Shane Courtney to replace Michael McNamee.

Courtney, who works for the Irish Defence Forces, managed Cappincur and Walsh Island in Offaly in recent years.

A former Sarsfields player, he is steeped in GAA as his dad John managed Offaly and Kildare in the 1980s and 90s as well as several club teams.

Former Cork footballer John was also part of Jim Gavin’s backroom team in their All-Ireland winning years.

Unsurprisingly, the four teams who still remain in the semi finals of the 2020 championship have remained with their respective managers.

John Strong is with Emo, Kevin Doogue remains with Graiguecullen, Martin Murphy is staying with Portarlington while so too does Killian Fitzpatrick with Ballyfin.

All five of the remaining clubs have also confirmed that they are retaining the services of their managers.

Timahoe’s Padraig Clancy will stay with Ballyroan-Abbey and Greg Ramsbottom remains with his native Stradbally.

Rosenallis have reappointed Paddy Dunne while the promoted Clonaslee are sticking with winning intermediate manager Conor Gorman.

While defeated quarter finalists Ballylinan have confirmed this morning that former Laois manager Mick Lillis will continue in charge alongside Pat Murphy and Aidan Walsh.

Laois Club football managers 2021

Arles-Killeen – Rory Stapleton
Ballyfin – Killian Fitzpatrick
Ballylinan – Mick Lillis
Ballyroan-Abbey – Padraig Clancy
Clonaslee – Conor Gorman
Courtwood – Eddie Kinsella
Emo – John Strong
Graiguecullen – Kevin Doogue
Killeshin – Christy Bolger
O’Dempsey’s – Eoin Kearns
Portarlington – Martin Murphy
Portlaoise – Kevin Fitzpatrick
Rosenallis – Paddy Dunne
St Joseph’s – Michael Dempsey
Stradbally – Greg Ramsbottom
The Heath – Shane Courtney

SEE ALSO – Laois man named Ladies Football Volunteer of the Year and given Lulu Carroll Award

Previous articleLaois Leeds United Members Club make donation to Friends of Portlaoise Hospital
Next articleAll Ireland-winning duo team up again to take charge of Laois ladies football club
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.