Home Gaelic Football Club Football 45 players nominated for LaoisToday 2020 senior football Team of the Year

45 players nominated for LaoisToday 2020 senior football Team of the Year

GAA rules

The 2020 edition of the Laois senior football championship has yet to be completed.

Last year, we made it down to the semi final stages before action was called to a halt in October due to the commencement of inter-county action.

A two-week local lockdown in August meant Laois lost three weekends of action and that meant the schedule could not be completed.

As it stands, the semi finals will see Emo face Graiguecullen and Portarlington take on Ballyfin – but God only knows when they will actually be played.

The GAA at national level had set out plans for the season to resume at the end of February but a Covid spike meant action won’t be possible until May at the earliest now.

And the GAA are still undecided whether the club or county games will return first.

For the last number of years, at the end of each season, we traditionally pick our selection for Team of the Year.

With the competition incomplete, we postponed this but with no prospect of a resumption for some months to come – we’ve decided to plough on with our Team of the Year for 2020.

In a departure from the norm, and in a bid to refresh in people’s minds what happened almost six months ago, we’ve decided to pick nominations for each position this time.

The four semi finalists as named above, played only three games – with six of the senior teams knocked out at an earlier stage actually playing four.

Two clubs, Emo and Portarlington, have received the most nominations with seven and six respectively.

And this is down to the quality of the opposition that they defeated on the way to the final.

Emo toppled 2019 defeated finalists Killeshin in Round 1, 2018 defeated finalists O’Dempsey’s in Round 2 and then knocked out three-in-a-row seeking Portlaoise in the quarter final.

While Portarlington defeated Stradbally in Round 1, champions Portlaoise in Round 2 and defeated 2018 finalists O’Dempsey’s in the quarter final.

The remaining semi finalists, Graiguecullen and Ballyfin, are the next highest represented with five each.


Graham Brody (Portlaoise)
Scott Osbourne (Portarlington)
Shane Coakley (Killeshin)


James O’Rourke (Emo)
Padraig Kirwan (Emo)
Sean Greene (Emo)
Cathal Bennett (Portarlington)
Robbie Pigott (Portarlington)
Alex Mohan (Portarlington)
Mark Timmons (Graiguecullen)
Trevor Collins (Graiguecullen)
Luke Alsybury (Graiguecullen)
David Connolly (Ballyfin)
Darragh Connolly (Ballyfin)
Fionn Holland (O’Dempsey’s)
David Seale (Portlaoise)
Denis Booth (The Heath)
Shane Bolger (Killeshin)
Fiachra C Fennell (Rosenallis)
James Kelly (St Joseph’s)
Darragh Carolan (Stradbally)


Finbarr Crowley (Emo)
Kieran Lillis (Portlaoise)
James Finn (Ballyfin)
Danny O’Reilly (Graiguecullen)
Eoin Dunne (Rosenallis)
Brian Daly (St Joseph’s)


Darren Strong (Emo)
Paul Lawlor (Emo)
Jack Owens (Emo)
James Moore (Ballyfin)
Sean Moore (Ballyfin)
Jake Foster (Portarlington)
David Murphy (Portarlington)
Benny Carroll (Portlaoise)
Josh Lacey (St Joseph’s)
Garry Comerford (Stradbally)
Diarmuid Whelan (Ballyroan-Abbey)
Donie Kingston (Arles-Killeen)
David Conway (Arles-Kilcruise)
Ross Bolger (Killeshin)
Danny Luttrell (Courtwood)
Dylan Kavanagh (The Heath)
Matthew Finlay (O’Dempsey’s)
Brian Byrne (Graiguecullen)

SEE ALSO – Laois footballer set to open new restaurant in popular golf club

Previous article13 transfers granted by Laois GAA ahead of 2021 season
Next articleCaution urged in Vicarstown as canal bridge badly damaged following accident