Home News Education Six Laois schools to receive extra special education classes for new academic...

Six Laois schools to receive extra special education classes for new academic year

Dunamase College
Dunamase College

Six Laois schools are to receive extra special education classes for the new academic year.

Sean Fleming, Minister of State at the Department of Finance, announced the approval for the coming new school year (2021/22).

Barrowhouse NS, Raheen NS, Our Lady’s Meadow NS Durrow, Castletown NS, Dunamase College and Heywood Community School will be able to offer these new special classes from September 2021.

Mr Fleming said: “Four of these classes are at primary level and two and secondary school level. The schools have already been notified of this.

“This is great news for these Laois schools and these classes are of great support to parents and students who require this additional assistance.

“Supporting students with special needs and offering opportunities to attend mainstream schools is a priority for the Government, and these additional placements will benefit many students.

“I also would like to acknowledge the teachers and support staff, their work in supporting these special classes and their efforts ensure that students have every opportunity to meet their learning needs and potential.”

SEE ALSO – Plans advancing to construct refuge centre for victims of domestic violence in Laois

Previous articleLaois Walks Festival announce decision to postpone 2021 series
Next articleSeries of free youth events, workshops and activities to take place in Laois for Cruinniú na nÓg on June 12
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.