Home Sport GAA Laois ladies announce 30-player minor football panel for 2021 season

Laois ladies announce 30-player minor football panel for 2021 season

Laois ladies minor football manager Martina Phelan has named a 30-player panel for the upcoming season.

Last year, the minor championship was not played due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

And last month, the LGFA cancelled national underage inter-county competitions for 2021.

Instead, they have informed counties that provinces can organise a championship at these levels and that must be completed by the end of August.

So while there will be no All-Ireland series for these girls, they will at least get to pull on the blue and white jersey unlike last year.

Unlike the GAA, the LGFA did not change their age grades to odd numbers so the minor grade is still an U-18 competition.

That means that some players on this panel are likely to be very busy in the coming months with Leah Tarpey, Orla Hennessy and Kelly O’Neill also on Donie Brennan’s senior panel.

A total of ten clubs are represented here and Timahoe have the highest with seven players.

Portlaoise have four while Sarsfields, Killeshin, St Brigid’s and Graiguecullen have three each.

Players from The Heath, St Paul’s, Ballyroan and Park-Ratheniska make up the remainder of the panel.

No fixtures have been released as yet but it is anticipated that the competition will get underway shortly.


Aoibhe Brennan (Timahoe)
Edel Deegan (Timahoe)
Heather Bennett (Timahoe)
Sarah Tuohy (Timahoe)
Laura Dempsey (Timahoe)
Orla Hennessy (Timahoe)
Sinead Larkin (Timahoe)
Koren Dunne (Portlaoise)
Rachel Glynn (Portlaoise)
Ciara Phelan (Portlaoise)
Grainne O’Reilly (Portlaoise)
Leah Tarpey (Sarsfields)
Ava Lawlor (Sarsfields)
Grainne Lawlor (Sarsfields)
Eadoin Cawley (Killeshin)
Kate Brennan (Killeshin)
Lucy Gaffney (Killeshin)
Ellen Hickey (St Brigid’s)
Fiona Fennessy (St Brigid’s)
Maeve Gallagher (St Brigid’s)
Georgina Donovan (Graiguecullen)
Jasmine Kinsella (Graiguecullen)
Kelly O’Neill (Graiguecullen)
Aisling Fitzpatrick (The Heath)
Anna Lalor (The Heath)
Ciara Crowley (St Paul’s)
Niamh Conroy (St Paul’s)
Ellen Donoghue (Ballyroan)
Finola Kehoe (Ballyroan)
Eleanor Healy (Park-Ratheniska)

SEE ALSO – Four Laois girls selected on Midlands U-15 Gaynor Cup squad

Previous articleNational Broadband Plan facing ‘catastrophic failure in first year of contract’ says Laois TD
Next articlePat McDonagh on delight of re-opening, PUP frustrations and future plans
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.