Home Hurling Club Hurling The Harps edge Trumera in pulsating Division 2 hurling final

The Harps edge Trumera in pulsating Division 2 hurling final

The Harps IHC
The Harps IHC

The Harps 1-23 Trumera 0-21
ACHL Division 2 Final

The Harps were crowned Division 2 league champions following a five point win over Trumera in Borris-In-Ossory tonight.

Anthony Stapleton’s charges just got the better of a gallant Trumera with Pat Walshe’s first half goal proving crucial in the end as it gave the winners a lead they could hold onto.

Interestingly, if The Harps defeat Portlaoise in the 2020 Premier Intermediate final next weekend, all of the 2021 leagues have been won by senior teams.

Castletown (Division 5), Camross (Division 4), Abbeyleix (Division 3), Rathdowney-Errill (Division 1B) are already winners – while either Rathdowney-Errill or Borris-Kilcotton will complete the leagues when they play the Division 1A final tomorrow.

The first ten minutes was tit for tat with Rian Edwards and three Ross Young frees accounting for The Harps’ scores while Adam Kirwan (2), Dan O’Connor and Cathal Brophy pointed for Trumera.

Teenage keeper Finian Cuddy pulled off a fine save at the start of the match but he could do nothing to stop Pat Walshe from close range in the tenth minute when he latched onto a long ball from Ross Young.

Neither team scored again until the water break but the game exploded on the scoreboard after that.

Niall Sinnott, Conor Madden, Dylan Lalor and Adam Kirwan were among the Trumera scorers as they battled back to draw level as we entered injury time.

But a late Ross Young free with the final puck of the half gave The Harps a 1-10 to 0-12 lead.

They sprung Laois U-20 star James Duggan from the bench at the break and he scored with his first touch to extend the lead on the restart.

Eoin Clancy and Ross Young also landed points in the third quarter for The Harps but in fairness to Trumera – they kept with them.

Adam Kirwan, Joey Coogan, Conor Madden and Niall Sinnott all raised white flags but The Harps led 1-16 to 0-17 at the second water break.

However, The Harps put the game to bed on the resumption with four unanswered scores to move six points clear.

James Duggan and Rian Edwards pointed from play while Ross Young converted another two frees.

Trumera once again fought back with two Adam Kirwan points but they needed a goal at this stage – however, The Harps keeper Lorcan Fitzpatrick remained untroubled.

In the end, Conor Deegan fired over the final point as The Harps were crowned champions.

SCORERS – The Harps: Ross Young 0-12 (ten frees), Pat Walshe 1-2, James Duggan, Eoin Clancy and Rian Edwards 0-2 each, Conor Deegan, Aaron Grady and Darren Maher 0-1 each Trumera: Adam Kirwan 0-9 (seven frees), Niall Sinnott 0-4 (all frees), Conor Madden 0-3, Cathal Brophy 0-1, Dan O’Connor 0-1, Dylan Lalor 0-1, Joey Coogan 0-1, Paddy Callaghan 0-1

THE HARPS: Lorcan Fitzpatrick; Eoin O’Sullivan, Shane Phelan, Tiarnach Doheny; Rian Edwards, Cathal Phelan, Conor Brophy; Brian Clancy, Aaron Grady; Shane Fitzpatrick, Cathal Murphy, Ross Young; Conor Delaney, Pat Walshe, Darren Maher. Subs: James Duggan for Delaney (ht), Gareth Singh for Murphy (41), Eoghan Doheny for O’Sullivan (46), Conor Deegan for Maher (50), Liam Dunphy for Fitzpatrick (56)

TRUMERA: Finnian Cuddy; James Kirwan, John O’Connor, Gearoid O’Neill; Paddy Callaghan, Caolan Murphy, Bryan Bredin; Donnach Dowling, Dylan Lalor; Joey Coogan, Niall Sinnott, Adam Kirwan; Cathal Brophy, Conor Madden, Daniel O’Connor. Subs: Rhys Murphy for Coogan (56), Conor Mason for Callaghan (58)

Referee: Patrick Phelan (Castletown)

SEE ALSO – Goals the key as Castletown claim Division hurling 5 title

Previous articleGoals the key as Castletown claim Division hurling 5 title
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Sunday, August 1, 2021