Home Hurling Club Hurling History made as first ever penalty shoot out in a Laois championship...

History made as first ever penalty shoot out in a Laois championship game takes place

Pierce Kelly celebrates with Rosenallis teammates - Photos: Pat Delaney

Rosenallis 0-18 Rathdowney-Errill 1-15 AET
(Rosenallis win 10-9 on penalties)
Junior ‘B’ Hurling Championship Semi Final 

There was history in the Centre of Excellence last night as Rosenallis won the first ever game to be decided by a penalty shoot out.

Laois teams have been involved in shoot outs before – the Laois U-20 footballers in 2020 and minor footballers this year as well as the Portlaoise footballers in the Leinster club championship in 2019 – but this is the first time it happened in a Laois club game.

Rosenallis, who won the Junior ‘C’ in dramatic circumstances last year, clashed with Rathdowney-Errill last night.

The eventual winners led by 0-7 to 0-4 at half time and in the final minute of the game, they held a three point advantage.

But Rathdowney-Errill were awarded a free and with the final puck, Brian Bowe drove the sliotar low into the turf and it found its way to the back of the net.

That made it 1-10 to 0-13 and both sides scored five points apiece in the extra time periods.

They could not be split so for the first time in the history of Laois GAA, the match headed for penalties.

Enda McEvoy, Sean Dunne, Darragh McEvoy, Pierce Kelly and Martin Ormonde all stepped up for Rosenallis.

While Ray Kelly, Brian Bowe, Ryan Costigan, Anthony Costigan and John Paul Ryan were Rathdowney-Errill’s penalty takers.

With the shoot-out in sudden death, Rosenallis keeper Pierce Kelly pulled off a fantastic save to settle the game in their favour.

They will now go forward to face the winners of Borris-Kilcotton and Kyle in next week’s final.

ROSENALLIS: Pierce Kelly; Alex Marron, Ronan Doolin, James Redmond; Paul Maher, Enda McEvoy, Nicky Dunne; Paul Lynch, Matthew Bennett; Jack Claffey, Shane Farrell, Darragh McEvoy; Martin Ormonde, Billy Friel

RATHDOWNEY-ERRILL: JP Ryan; Alex Bowe, Stephen Carroll, Oisin Campion; Jason Alley, Niall Delaney, Christy Carroll; Ryan Costigan, Colm Ryan; Anthony Costigan, Ray Kelly, Brian Bowe; John Brennan, Brian Meehan, Alan Doyle

Referee: Patrick Phelan (Castletown)

SEE ALSO – The first Team of the Week as 2021 hurling championships get underway

Previous articleHere are all of the latest golf results from around the county
Next articleValue of construction-based grants ‘must be increased’ insists local Senator