Home Sport Laois trio set to go for glory as Wexford Youths to face...

Laois trio set to go for glory as Wexford Youths to face Shelbourne FAI Women’s Cup Final

Wexford Youths
Wexford Youths

The Evoke.ie FAI Women’s Cup Final between Wexford Youths WFC and Shelbourne FC takes place at Tallaght Stadium on Sunday at 5.30pm.

And there will be considerable Laois interest as three players from the O’Moore County are set to represent Wexford Youths.

Goalkeeper Ciamh Gray (Portlaoise), centre half Della Doherty (Portarlington) and forward Kylie Murphy (Graiguecullen) have all enjoyed great seasons.

They were to the fore in the semi final victory over Peamount United last month where they stunned the Dublin outfit in extra time.

Captain Murphy opened the scoring for Wexford, smashing her header in off the crossbar following a first-half corner.

Wexford held firm and looked set for a place in the final, but Aine O’ Gorman struck in the 89th minute, sending the match to extra-time.

However, it was the visitors who would not be denied, as Murphy got her second and Lynn Marie Grant added another to seal a 3-1 win for Wexford after 120 minutes.

Graiguecullen’s Murphy has had a brilliant season for Wexford and was rewarded for her form yesterday.

She has been nominated for the Player of the Year award alongside Galway’s Savannah McCarthy and Peamount’s Karen Duggan.

The winner of the particular award will be announced on December 1.

Sunday’s Cup final will be live on RTE 2 with coverage beginning at 4.45pm.

SEE ALSO – Juvenile arrested following weekend ‘stabbing’ incident in Portlaoise

Previous articleDeaths in Laois – Friday, November 19, 2021
Next articleDepleted Ballinakill hit the road to take on free-scoring Westmeath champions
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.