Home Sport GAA Portlaoise advance in Laois U-20 football championship as The Heath book ‘B’...

Portlaoise advance in Laois U-20 football championship as The Heath book ‘B’ final place

Portlaoise 2-13 Stradbally Parish Gaels 2-7
Laois U-20 ‘A’ FC Quarter-final

Fielding eight players who played senior championship this year, Portlaoise proved too strong for Stradbally Parish Gaels in the opening round of the U-20 championship this evening in Stradbally.

Portlaoise now go forward to a semi-final meeting against the winners of Portarlington and Graiguecullen. That game was also scheduled for this evening but was postponed.

St Joseph’s and Ballyroan-Abbey meet in the other semi-final.

PORTLAOISE: Michael O’Connell; Jack O’Connell, Ben Reddin, Sam Birrane; Josh Hogan, Eddie Critchley, Ben Dempsey; Kevin Swayne, Ben Brennan; Ben Conroy, Damon Larkin, Colm McEvoy; DJ White, Michael Culleton, Cormac Dunne. Subs: Kieran Donnellon, Brian Smith, Liam Og Brennan, Gary Whelan, Gavin Skehan, Jamie Keenan, Niall Carey, Peter Naughton, Mark O’Reilly, Matthew Walsh, Sean O’Sullivan

STRADBALLY PARISH GAELS: Oisin Ramsbottom; Cathal Kelleher, Eamon Delaney, Cathal Molloy; David Fennelly, Conor Donlon, Killian McGannon; Conor Goode, Daire McDonald; Conor Buggy, Darragh Carolan, Ciaran O’Neill; Mark O’Connell, Cillian Maher, Conor Fitzpatrick. Subs: Noah Delaney, Eoin Corcoran, Darren Robinson, Darragh Mulhall, Sean McDonald.

REFEREE: Seamus Mulhare (The Heath)

The Heath 0-15 Killeshin 1-8
Laois U-20 ‘B’ FC Semi-final

The Heath got the better of Killeshin to set up an U-20 ‘B’ final date with Na Fianna Og.

Following on from wins over O’Dempsey’s and Ballyfin Gaels, The Heath did enough to get the better of a Killeshin side that had earlier beaten The Harps and Clonaslee.

Na Fianna Og (a combination of the two Arles clubs, Crettyard and Barrowhouse) got the better of Rosenallis in the other semi-final during the week.

THE HEATH: Michael Harrison; Darragh Lewis, James Whelan, Dylan Booth; Mark Phelan, Peter Monnelly, Jordan Ratcliffe; William Conroy, Aaron Thornton; Ben Lalor, Conor Booth, Jack Reddy; Dee O’Brien, Tom Reddy, Jake Ratcliffe. Subs: Brian Keane, Niall Kirby, Dylan Keyes, Eoin Sherlock, Callum Leonard, Jack Aherne, Merrick Whelan

KILLESHIN: Sean Dollard; Ruairi Seery, Brendan McDonald, Liam Curley; Leeson Hughes, David McDonald, Robert Collins; Daniel McGrath, Conor Heffernan; Liam Seery, Kaelum Hand; Jack Dowling, Ross Bolger, Mikey Dempsey. Subs: Orrie Doran, Bill Fitzgerald, Oisin Byrne, Jack Brennan, John Heffernan, Evan Galligan, Jack Thompson

REFEREE: Clifford Ward (Portarlington)

SEE ALSO – Park-Ratheniska see off Carlow representatives to march on in Leinster club championship

Previous articleC-Fennell to the fore as Ballyfin Ladies begin Leinster adventure with a win
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Sunday, November 21, 2021
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.