Home Sport GAA Laois Ladies minor football glory for Timahoe, Portlaoise and St Joseph’s

Laois Ladies minor football glory for Timahoe, Portlaoise and St Joseph’s

The Ladies minor football finals took place in Annanough on Sunday.

It was a triple header on the day as the ‘A’, ‘B’ and ‘C’ finals were down for decision.

The day ended with the A final as Timahoe were crowned winners.

They were pushed all the way by Graiguecullen with the tie only really decided in the closing stages thanks to two late Timahoe goals.

Graiguecullen contained Abbie Phelan, Jasmine Kinsella, Georgina Donovan, Katie Byrne; Kerrie Smith and Kelly O’Neill who had all played in last weekend’s Intermediate final.

With O’Neill on fire up front, it was they who took a 3-2 to 1-5 lead at half time.

Katie Donoghue grabbed Timahoe’s goal in the first period while captain Orla Hennessy was accurate on frees.

Donoghue’s second goal, via a penalty, when play resumed levelled matters and set up a humdinger of a contest from there.

Graiguecullen continued to attack in waves but Sarah Tuohy, playing as a sweeper, mopped up loose ball and snuffed out countless attacks which helped keep them at bay.

Sinead Goode gave Timahoe the lead with her first goal of the encounter and then Donoghue completed her hat-trick.

Graiguecullen replied with a goal to put four points between the teams as we headed for injury time.

But with basically the final kick, the excellent Hennessy intercepted a Graiguecullen kick-out and charged towards the goal.

Her shot cannoned off the crossbar but Goode was on hand to tap home the rebound and settle the game.

Earlier in the day, Portlaoise were crowned Minor ‘B’ champions after defeating Park-Ratheniska.

While St Joseph’s proved too strong for St Paul’s in the ‘C’ final.

Check out the teams, scorelines and pictures from the games below:

Timahoe 5-6 Graiguecullen 4-2
Ladies MFC ‘A’ Final

TIMAHOE: Aoibhe Brennan; Niamh McKittrick, Laura Dempsey, Ellen Dunne; Edel Deegan, Aoife Horgan, Heather Bennett; Orla Hennessy, Roisin Fleming; Kayla Darcy, Sinead Larkin, Aoife Gorman; Sarah Tuohy, Katie Donoghue, Sinead Goode. Subs: Emma Tuohy, Niamh Fitzpatrick, Orlaith McNamara, Laura Miller, Mairead Foyle, Emma Killeen, Molly Mcgannon

GRAIGUECULLEN: Kelly O’Neill; Shauna Doyle, Abigail O’Brien, Holly Brennan; Abbie Phelan, Ava Hernan, Jasmine Kinsella; Georgina Donovan, Katie Byrne; Shauna Howe, Kerrie Smith, Ellie Byrne; Ella Byrne, Kelly O’Neill, Emma Doyle. Subs: Kayla McCartney, Emma Delaney, Caoimhe Brennan, Alisa Murnane, Kathlyn Timmons, Ellen O’Byrne, Orla Keating

Portlaoise 3-14 Park-Ratheniska 5-5
Ladies MFC ‘B’ Final

PORTLAOISE: Cara Phelan; Jessie Saunders, Ella Byrne, Sinead Murphy; Clodagh Power, Koren Dunne, Eimear Marum; Tory Byrne, Grainne O’Reilly; Faydagh Dunne, Molly McNulty, Aishling Fleming; Susie Delaney, Rachel Glynn, Katie O’Reilly. Subs: Keeva O’Reilly, Eimear O’Boyle, Stefaine Abrama, Ella McNulty, Emer Whelan

PARK-RATHENISKA: Emma Ramsbottom; Cara Airde, Eimear Brennan, Hollie Delaney; Meadhbh Dunne, Keeva Fingleton, Lily Duff; Eleanor Healy, Grace Cunningham; Tara Byrne, Danielle Brennan, Riona Duff; Aoibhean Szwaglis, Ellen O’Byrne, Shannon Fitzpatrick. Subs: Meaghan Fitzpatrick, Sionna Phelan, Esmee Van de Bergh, Alison Kelly, Roisin Bracken, Grace Connolly, Laura Brennan, Ciara Conroy, Alison Dalton, Ciara Brennan, Lily Van de Bergh

St Joseph’s 8-9 St Paul’s 2-7
Ladies MFC ‘C’ Final

ST JOSEPH’S: Ava Shanahan; Ellie Mae O’Keeffe, Mary Kate O’Keeffe, Amy Lynch; Kate Joyce, Grace Moore, Jane Ramsbottom; Emma Johnson, Lily Hooney; Audrey Byrne, Niamh Crosby, Lauren Rowan; Abbie O’Brien, Annie Lucey, Reiltin Hooney. Subs: Helen Ramsbottom, Ashley Morrin, Sarah Joyce,

ST PAUL’S: Sue Le Blanc Meredith; Fiadh Fitzpatrick, Molly McCormack, Sarah McCormack; Caoimhe Dooley, Anna Hanlon, Molly O’Toole; Ciara Crowley, Chloe Keenan; Louise O’Halloran, Holly Langford, Keelin Murphy; Megan Byrne, Niamh Conroy, Anna Keegan. Subs: Ava Cox, Amber Woods, Robyn Storey, Ruby Conlon, Grace McCormack, Niamh Kitchen, Elizabeth O’Connor, Ellie Wright

SEE ALSO – End of the road for St Conleth’s as Wicklow champions prove too strong in Leinster

Previous articleFundraiser launched to cover funeral costs as League of Ireland club join tributes following tragic passing of young Laois man
Next articleLaois senior hurling champions set for TV appearance this weekend