Home Sport GAA Ladies football panel boosted as a host of experienced players commit for...

Ladies football panel boosted as a host of experienced players commit for 2022 season

Laois ladies footballers

The Laois Ladies football panel for the 2022 season has been given a significant boost following the return of a number of quality experienced players – as well as the introduction of some exciting new talents.

Timahoe sisters Aisling Donoher (nee Quigley) and Sarah Quigley as well as Anna Moore from St Brigid’s have returned to the setup having not been involved in recent seasons while Emma Lawlor from St Paul’s has also been included in Donie Brennan’s 33-player panel having opted off the squad last year.

Talented dual player Laura Marie Maher from Sarsfields, who was captain a couple of season ago, has thrown her lot in with the footballers once again while Irish underage soccer international Emily Corbet from Clonaslee is listed also.

Corbet is one of three players involved in last year’s Leinster Minor ‘B’ championship winning team to be named on the panel, alongside Timahoe’s Orla Hennessy, who is an established senior at this stage, as well as Kelly O’Neill from Graiguecullen.

Of the players who saw championship action last year as Laois reached the All Ireland intermediate semi-final, Ballyroan duo Andrea Moran and Emily Mulhall aren’t involved this year while Leah Tarpey from Sarsfields isn’t involved either.

The long-serving Clare Conlon, who was a member of the 2001 All Ireland-winning panel, is named again while leading scorer Mo Nerney has recovered from the ankle injury that ruled her out of most of the club championship last year.

In all 12 clubs have players represented with county champions St Conleth’s and Timahoe with six each, five from Sarsfields, four each from St Brigid’s and Portlaoise, two from Park-Ratheniska and one apiece from Ballyroan, St Paul’s, Clonaslee, Graiguecullen, Shanahoe and St Joseph’s.

Interestingly there are four sets of sisters on the panel – Quigleys (Aisling and Sarah), Moores (Jane and Anna), Williams (Becky and Rachel) and Havills (Alanna and Shifra).

Laois played Longford in a practice match last Sunday and will face All Ireland champions Meath this weekend ahead of the start of their Division 2 National League campaign at home to Clare on February 13. They will play Tipperary at home the following week and then finish up away to Kerry on March 6.

Laois won Division 3 of the league last year and later reached the All Ireland intermediate semi-final.

The Laois ladies football panel in full is:

  1. Clodagh Dunne (Ballyroan)
  2. Emily Corbet (Clonaslee)
  3. Kelly O’Neill (Graiguecullen)
  4. Ellen Healy (Portlaoise)
  5. Fiona Dooley (Portlaoise)
  6. Laura Nerney (Portlaoise)
  7. Sarah Anne Fitzgerald (Portlaoise)
  8. Anna Healy (Park-Ratheniska)
  9. Erone Fitzpatrick (Park-Ratheniska)
  10. Becky Williams (Sarsfields)
  11. Clare Conlon (Sarsfields)
  12. Joyce Dunne (Sarsfields)
  13. Laura Marie Maher (Sarsfields)
  14. Rachel Williams (Sarsfields)
  15. Eimear Barry (Shanahoe)
  16. Aisling Lacey (St Brigid’s)
  17. Amy Potts (St Brigid’s)
  18. Anna Moore (St Brigid’s)
  19. Jane Moore (St Brigid’s)
  20. Aimee Kelly (St Conleth’s)
  21. Alanna Havill (St Conleth’s)
  22. Aoife Kirrane (St Conleth’s)
  23. Eva Galvin (St Conleth’s)
  24. Naomi Luttrell (St Conleth’s)
  25. Shifra Havill (St Conleth’s)
  26. Sinead Farrelly (St Joseph’s)
  27. Emma Lawlor (St Paul’s)
  28. Aisling Donoher (Timahoe)
  29. Mo Nerney (Timahoe)
  30. Orla Hennessy (Timahoe)
  31. Roisin Larkin (Timahoe)
  32. Sarah Larkin (Timahoe)
  33. Sarah Quigley (Timahoe)

SEE ALSO – Three new faces appointed to Laois GAA County Board for 2022 season

Previous articleFine Gael lay out the process for filling council seat left vacant by Mary Sweeney
Next articleMonths after losing Bank of Ireland branch, Laois town secures new ATM
Steven Miller is owner and managing editor of LaoisToday.ie. From Laois, Steven studied Journalism in DCU and has 14 years experience in the media, almost 10 of those in an editorial role. Husband of Emily, father of William and Lillian, he's happiest when he's telling stories or kicking a point.