Home Sport GAA Defeat for youthful Scoil Chriost Ri in Leinster U-16 ‘A’ Schools final

Defeat for youthful Scoil Chriost Ri in Leinster U-16 ‘A’ Schools final

Scoil Chriost Ri

Loreto Navan 4-14 Scoil Chriost Ri 2-2
Leinster U-16 ‘A’ Schools Ladies Football Championship Final

Scoil Chriost Ri suffered defeat in the Schools Leinster U-16 ‘A’ final in Kinnegad this afternoon.

A youthful Laois side, comprising of nine players who are eligible for the grade next year, battled gamely in the first half.

They headed for the break just four points down but the physicality of their Meath opponents told in the second half.

Susie Delaney and Ana Mulligan led the resistance in the first half with a goal each while the former also pointed.

But Loreto Navan matched that with goals from Lauren Woods and Kellie Stafford.

Player of the match Emma Brogan was also among the scorers as they led 2-5 to 2-1 at half time.

Ailbhe Carroll pointed for Scoil Chriost Ri in the second half but that would prove to be their only score of that period.

Lauren Woods and sub Laura Mangan scored further goals for the victors who ran out 18 point winners in the end.

A tough defeat for Scoil Chriost Ri but with so many players eligible again next year, they will certainly be back.

SCORERS – Scoil Chriost Ri: Susie Delaney 1-1, Ana Mulligan 1-0, Ailbhe Carroll 0-1 Loreto Navan: Kellie Stafford 1-8, Lauren Woods 2-1, Laura Mangan 1-1, Emma Brogan 0-2, Orlaith Reilly and Chloe Caffrey 0-1 each

SCOIL CHRIOST RI: Doireann Brennan; Lara Culleton, Ella McNulty, Roisin Murphy; Sarah Gorman, Rebecca Cahill, Rachel Byrne; Ellie Keane, Shannon Fitzpatrick; Ana Mulligan, Susie Delaney, Abbey-Louise Byrne; Ailbhe Carroll, Alannah Culbertson, Hannah McEvoy.

Subs: Keeva O’Reilly, Clodagh Fingleton, Ella Hanamy, Kate Rigney, Faye Brown, Katie Grant, Alannah Rigney, Faye Byrne, Eve Doyle, Alison Dalton, Ciara Conroy, Aoibheann Stynes, Aoibheann Szwaglis, Laura Miller

LORETO NAVAN: Lucy Lynch; Catherine Monaghan, Aine Byrne, Anna Gardiner; Aisling O’Connor, Zoe Harte, Lauren Nash; Mia Brady, Isabel Thorp; Nessa McDermott, Orlaith Reilly, Zoe Coyne; Lauren Woods, Kellie Stafford, Emma Brogan

SEE ALSO – Former senior selectors and minor boss among new appointments as Laois clubs confirm managers for 2022

Previous articleSuccess for Laois trainer on at recent meeting at Shelbourne Park Greyhound Stadium
Next articleLaois Gardai arrest disqualified driver in possession of knife and issue warning over ‘bogus callers’