Home Sport Soccer WATCH: Murphy and Mulhall goals seal latest Portlaoise AFC win in promotion...

WATCH: Murphy and Mulhall goals seal latest Portlaoise AFC win in promotion push

Portlaoise AFC

Portlaoise AFC 2 St Francis 0
Leinster Senior League Division 1A

Second-half goals from Jason Murphy and Chris Mulhall helped Portlaoise AFC remain in the promotion hunt in Division 1A of the Leinster Senior League on Wednesday night.

Portlaoise lie in fifth place in the table, level on 36 points with St Kevin’s Boys, though Shane Keegan’s side have five games remaining, two more than the Dublin outfit.

In third place on 38 points and the same number of games played as Portlaoise are Swords Celtic.

The top three teams are promoted though Kilbarrack and St Francis are well clear in first and second.

Indeed Portlaoise’s win over St Francis has seriously dented their title hopes who have just two games still to play.

The sides were level 0-0 at the break before Mulhall broke the deadlock midway through the second half when he reacted quickest after Murphy’s initial shot was saved.

And Mulhall turned provider for Murphy’s goal in injury time.

Murphy saw his first effort come back off the bar and though St Francis countered dangerously in search of an equaliser, Portlaoise broke up the attack and Mulhall put Murphy through for the clincher.

Portlaoise are away to 8th place Newtown Rangers on Sunday.

They also have two cup campaigns to negotiate and are in the quarter-final of both the Lummey O’Reilly Cup and Metro Cup.

You can watch the goals from last night’s game in the video below.

PORTLAOISE: Joe Walshe; Evan McEvoy, Aidan McGovern, Scott Osborne; Oisin Fitzpatrick, Colm Poole, Jack Priestley, Paul Cahillane, Jimmy Dermody; Jason Murphy, Chris Mulhall.

SEE ALSO – U-15 Carlow Soccer League glory for St Anne’s following dramatic encounter with Hanover Harps

Previous articleLaois Councillors accuse government of ‘massaging figures’ following statement on social housing
Next articleLaois U-20 hurling team named for Leinster championship opener against Antrim