Home News Community Laois and Offaly have new judge appointed as Newbridge solicitor promoted to...

Laois and Offaly have new judge appointed as Newbridge solicitor promoted to the role

Andrew Cody Portlaoise Courthouse

The Government has decided to nominate Newbridge based solicitor Andrew Cody for appointment as an Ordinary Judge of the District Court.

President Michael D Higgins will be asked to rubber stamp the appointment which will see Cody assigned to Laois and Offaly.

The vacancy arose after Judge Catherine Staines was promoted to the Circuit Court.

Mr Cody was educated at Cistercian College Roscrea and University College Cork.

He is the son of the late Seamus and Mary Cody of Clonmore, Templemore, Tipperary.

Mr Cody is married to solicitor Eva O’Brien, and they have two grown up children, Katie and Nicholas.

Mr Cody was apprenticed to the late Gus Cunningham of Butler, Cunningham and Molony Solicitors in Templemore.

He has been in practice in Reidy Stafford LLP Newbridge and Kilcullen for the last 32 years where he has served for over 18 years as Managing Partner.

Mr Cody has been Chairman of the Complaints Committee of the Law Society, Chairman of Garda Disciplinary Panels, Independent Deputy Chairman of the Appeals Body of the Turf Club and a member of the Complaints Committee of the Legal Services Regulatory Authority.

He is expected to take up his appointment in approximately two months.

SEE ALSO – Gardai launch investigation as residents ‘living in fear’ following ‘random acts of vandalism’ in Laois housing estate

Previous articleIn Pictures: Carlow soccer league glory for St Fiacc’s U-13 and U-15 girls
Next articleIn Pictures: Abbeyleix Tidy Towns hosts Laois Federation of Tidy Towns Seminar
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.