Home GAA Cumann na mBunscol Amazing Aoibheann leads Emo NS to Division 5 Shield glory over Timahoe

Amazing Aoibheann leads Emo NS to Division 5 Shield glory over Timahoe

Emo 11-2 Timahoe 1-10
Division 5 Girls Shield 

Aoibheann O’Hara scored a double hat-trick as Emo National School claimed the Division 5 Shield in O’Moore Park.

The full forward scored a double hat-trick following a scintillating display for her school.

Timahoe NS battled very hard but just couldn’t match the goal scoring ability of their hosts and that was ultimately the difference in the end.

The first half was a thoroughly entertaining affair that swung one way and then the other.

But ultimately, it was Emo’s ability to score goals that ensured they led by the half time break.

Aoibheann O’Hara was outstanding at full forward as she helped herself to four goals.

Aoibheann Malone and Aoileann Ni Chomhraide also rattled the net in a ruthless display in front of goal.

But Timahoe were just as dangerous down the other end. Anna Clancy, daughter of former Laois great Padraig, sent over three beauties.

Emma Burke contributed 1-1 while Emma McEvoy and Lucy Sage also raised white flags.

It meant that Enmo held a 6-0 to 1-7 lead at half time – with Aoileann Ni Chomraide extending that when play resumed with her second goal.

Aoibheann O’Hara went on another brilliant run that resulted in her fifth goal to leave Emo five ahead as we entered the closing ten minutes.

Emma McEvoy responded for Timahoe with their first point of the half but Emo were ruthless in reply.

O’Hara completed her double hat-trick while Aoileann Ni Chomhraide completed her hat-trick as they kicked for home.

Timahoe had scores from Emma McEvoy and Ellie May O’Connor but it was goals they needed.

Instead, Ni Chomhraide scored a fourth for Emo before the end as they won well.

SCORERS – Emo NS: Aoibheann O’Hara 6-0, Aoileann Ni Chomhraide 4-0, Aoibheann Malone 1-2 Timahoe: Emma Burke 1-1, Anna Clancy 0-3 (one free), Emma McEvoy 0-4, Lucy Sage 0-1, Ellie May O’Connor 0-1

EMO NS: Jessica Dwyer; Katie Bracken, Molly Lanigan, Caoimhe Coffey, Aoibhinn Malone, Aoileann Ni Chomhraide, Sophie Cahill, Aoibheann O’Hara, Gabriella Pita. Subs: Amy Lynch, Lucy Goulding, Lily Whelan, Daisy O’Sullivan, Laoise Lawlor, Kamila Rama, Aiesha Mooney, Emma White

TIMAHOE NS: Ellie May O’Connor; Lucy Scully, Lucy Sage, Mia McGrath, Emma McEvoy, Anna Clancy, Emma Burke, Muireann Brown, Emilia McEvoy, Sarah Jane Weafer Subs: Megan Ryan, Roisin Hogan-O’Donnell

SEE ALSO – Click here for all of our Cumann na mBunscol coverage

Previous articleHilliard helps Camross claim Division 3 girls championship glory over Clonaghadoo
Next articleOur Lady’s Durrow too strong as they defeat Timahoe for Division 3 championship glory
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.