Home Sport GAA Laois GAA County Board for 2023 confirmed following annual Convention

Laois GAA County Board for 2023 confirmed following annual Convention

Laois GAA County Board

The make-up of the Laois GAA County Board for 2023 has been confirmed following tonight’s Convention in the Midlands Park Hotel.

This was the first fully attended in-person Convention to take place in Laois since 2019.

The Covid-19 pandemic saw Convention go online in 2020 and there was a curtailed event last year at this venue with numbers capped.

PJ Kelly was re-elected unopposed as chairman for a second year but he has a new deputy as Kieran Kehoe from O’Dempsey’s replaces Tom Clear as vice-chair after his five year term ended.

Martin Byrne has stepped down as treasurer after 13 years in the role and has been replaced by former assistant treasurer Paschal McEvoy.

The first vote was due to be for the role of new assistant treasurer with O’Dempsey’s Bryan Breen, the outgoing chair of Laois Gaels, up against Adrienne McCarthy of Portarlington.

In the end, McCarthy pulled out and Breen was elected unopposed.

There was also to be a vote for Leinster Council with Tom Clear and Kieran Leavy challenging the sitting Brian Allen and Richie Kennedy.

But Richie Kennedy stepped down and Kieran Leavy withdrew leaving Allen and Clear to take the roles.

There was also to be a vote for Central Council where Gerry Kavanagh left his role after his five years in the seat.

Martin Byrne, Brian Allen and Tom Clear were to contest this but Allen and Clear withdrew leaving Byrne elected unopposed.

Fergal Byron stepped down as coaching officer and he was due to be replaced by former Juvenile chairman Alan Langton.

However, the Barrowhouse man withdrew from the role so that remains vacant.

While there are now no women on the county board as Monica Delaney has finished her term as Irish officer. She has been replaced by Kilcavan’s Noel Stapleton.

Meanwhile, the position of PRO also remains unfilled. Portarlington’s Canice McCarthy has stepped down but no nomination for the role was received.

It is hoped that this can be filled by the first County Committee meeting in January.

In the end, the only vote that did take place was for Congress Delegates where Brian Allen, Martin Byrne, Tom Clear and Paschal McEvoy contested for three positions.

Brian Allen, Tom Clear and Martin Byrne were subsequently elected.


Chairman – PJ Kelly (Timahoe)

Vice-chairman – Kieran Kehoe (O’Dempsey’s)

Treasurer – Paschal McEvoy (Timahoe)

Assistant Treasurer – Bryan Breen (O’Dempsey’s)

Leinster Council Delegates – Brian Allen (Trumera) and Tom Clear (Clough-Ballacolla)

Central Council Delegate – Martin Byrne (Arles-Killeen)

Coaching Officer – Vacant

Juvenile Chairman – Joe Cunningham (Park-Ratheniska)

Development Officer – Vacant

Football Chairman – Kieran Kehoe (O’Dempsey’s)

Hurling Chairman – Mattie Collier (Camross)

Cultural and Irish Officer – Noel Stapleton (Kilcavan)

PRO – Vacant

Congress Delegates – Chairman, secretary and Central Council delegate automatically attend: Brian Allen, Martin Byrne and Tom Clear

Leinster Convention Delegates – Outgoing Leinster Council delegates automatically attend plus five more: Martin Byrne, Tom Clear, PJ Kelly, Tom Jones, Paschal McEvoy

SEE ALSO – Shock and sadness at the death of well-known Laois builder Pat Moore

Previous articleSadness at the death of former Portlaoise teacher Ann Rochford
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Tuesday, December 6, 2022
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.