Home GAA Hurling Castlecomer CS defeat Heywood CS but both teams advance in the Leinster...

Castlecomer CS defeat Heywood CS but both teams advance in the Leinster schools hurling championship

Hurling General

Castlecomer CS 1-18 Heywood CS 2-8
Leinster ‘B’ Schools Hurling Championship Round 2

Castlecomer and Heywood played out a very entertaining affair on Wednesday – with both sides advancing to the knock out phase.

The home team were favoured by a bitterly cold breeze but it was the Laois team that got the perfect start after a point from Michael Brennan for the hosts.

Out on the right wing, Liam Kavanagh fired in a high ball that deceived the keeper and dipped under the crossbar for a great goal.

Three minutes later, a great passing movement started in midfield reached full forward Colin Byrne and he fed the well placed Cormac Byrne who hammered into the keeper’s right hand corner of the net.

The home team settled down and slowly clawed their way back into the game with a string of points by Michael Brennan, Harry Roche and full forward Ross Dowling.

Then a good move down the wing saw Adam Buggy place Evan
Harding in for the home side’s only goal.

After that they picked off points at ease despite good defending by the visitors and after the two goals they only added points by Eli Quin and Liam Kavanagh to leave it 1-11 to 2-2 at half time.

Heywood started the second half full of determination and Eli Quinn pointed from a free, followed by a point from Cormac Byrne from play.

Further points by Quinn narrowed the gap to three points but then a purple patch for the hosts saw three great points in as many minutes from Eoin O’Connor the standout player for Comer.

Further points by Brennan saw Heywood trail 2-6 to 1-15 with ten minutes remaining.

Heywood refused to give up and two more points by Eli Quinn kept them in touch but sharp shooter Michael Brennan saw the home team run out winners.

Heywood though, can be pleased and they owe much to a very solid defence where Conor Dooley, Eoin Shortall and Eoghan Murphy excelled. In attack Eli Quinn, Cormac Byrne and Liam Kavanagh impressed.

Heywood have received a bye into quarter final of the competition where they will face either Bunclody or Castlecomer again – they clash next week.

Scorers – Catlecomer CS: Michael Brennan 0-8 (0-6 frees), Evan Harding 1-1, James Coogan 0-3, Harry Roche 0-2, Ross Dowling 0-2, Jamie Morrissey and Eoin Moore 0-1 each
Heywood: Liam Kavanagh 1-2 (two frees), Eli Quinn 0-5 (four frees), Cormac Byrne 1-1

CASTLECOMER CS: Niall Shore; Darren Hennessy, Adam Buggy, Jack Comerford; Bobby Brennan, Eoin Moore, Joseph Ryan; John Brennan, Michael Keane; Jamie Morrissey, Harry Roche, Evan Harding; James Coogan, Ross Dowling, Michael Brennan.

HEYWOOD CS: Michael Fleming; Conor Dooley, Eoin Shortall, Robert Kennedy; Dara Phelan, Eoghan Murphy, Enda Shortall; Conor Fitzpatrick, Andrew McDonald; Eli Quinn, Liam Kavanagh, Sean Brennan; Cormac Byrne, Colin Byrne, Oisin Troy. Subs: Ben O’Meara for Sean Brennan (43), Dan Cass for Enda Shortall (46). Tom O’Keeffe for Dara Phelan (50m)

Referee: Eamon Mansfield (Cloneen)

SEE ALSO – Former teammates and managers full of praise for the legendary Ross Munnelly

Previous articleDeaths in Laois – Friday, December 16, 2022
Next articleTalking Sport Podcast: Ross retires, Laois football and hurling panel updates and big appointment in Portarlington