Home Sport GAA Laois senior hurling team named ahead of Walsh Cup opener against Wexford

Laois senior hurling team named ahead of Walsh Cup opener against Wexford

Laois senior hurlers

The Laois senior hurling team has been named for the opening round of the Walsh Cup on Sunday.

Willie Maher’s first competitive game in charge will take place in Mountrath where they will take on Wexford at 2pm.

And the Tipperary man has named an experienced enough looking side that features some returning players and two debutantes.

James Duggan, an exciting young forward from The Harps, has been named at corner forward.

While he is joined at full forward by Martin Phelan from Castletown who is also set to make his debut.

There are also several players named to start who have not appeared for Laois in recent times.

Ballinakill’s Podge Lawlor is back for his first appearance since 2018 while Clonaslee-St Manman’s Liam Senior is named at midfield after opting to play football last year.

Borris-Kilcotton’s Aaron Dunphy is the third returning face after he opted out last season.

Laois have also named their bench which includes experienced figures like Ross King and PJ Scully as well as a number of players who could potentially get their debuts.

That list includes keeper Ben Campion of Rathdowney-Errill, Abbeyleix duo of Fionan Mahony and Lawson Obulor, Borris-Kilcotton’s Enda Parlon and Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe’s Danny Brennan.

There is no place for Podge Delaney nor Stephen ‘Picky’ Maher – but is understood the latter is due to return to the squad next week.

Laois will take on Kilkenny on Sunday week before completing their group phase away to Offaly on January 22.


1 – Enda Rowland (Abbeyleix)
2 – Fiachra C-Fennell (Rosenallis)
3 – Donnchadh Hartnett (Rosenallis)
4 – Padraig Dunne (The Harps)
5 – Podge Lawlor (Ballinakill)
6 – Paddy Purcell (Rathdowney-Errill)
7 – Ryan Mullaney (Castletown)
8 – Liam Senior (Clonaslee-St Manman’s)
9 – Jack Kelly (Rathdowney-Errill)
10 – Aaron Dunphy (Borris-Kilcotton)
11 – Willie Dunphy (Clough-Ballacolla)
12 – James Keyes (Colt-Shanahoe)
13 – James Duggan (The Harps)
14 – Martin Phelan (Castletown)
15 – Tomas Keyes (Camross)


16 – Ben Campion (Rathdowney-Errill)
17 – Ross King (Rathdowney-Errill)
18 – Fionan Mahony (Abbeyleix)
19 – Lawson Obulor (Abbeyleix)
20 – Enda Parlon (Borris-Kilcotton)
21 – Ciaran Byrne (Abbeyleix)
22 – Danny Brennan (Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe)
23 – PJ Scully (Borris-Kilcotton)
24 – Brandon McGinley (Rathdowney-Errill)
25 – Jordan Walshe (Clough-Ballacolla)
26 – Seamus Fitzpatrick (Ballinakill)

SEE ALSO – Restaurant located on the grounds of popular Laois golf course announces closer

Previous article‘Minister for Health must take the lead in tackling hospital crisis in Portlaoise and Tullamore’ says Laois TD
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Saturday, January 7, 2023
Steven Miller is owner and managing editor of LaoisToday.ie. Husband of Emily, father of William, Lillian and John, he's happiest when he's telling stories