Home Sport GAA Laois Senior football team named for Division 4 opener away to Sligo

Laois Senior football team named for Division 4 opener away to Sligo

Laois footballers

The Laois senior football team has been named ahead of Sunday’s Division 4 opener away to Sligo.

There are two league debuts as Portarlington’s Scott Osborne starts in goals and Emo’s Sean Greene is ahead of him.

In total there are four of the Portarlington team that has won the last three Laois senior football championships.

Robbie Pigott is named at corner back, Paddy O’Sullivan at wing forward and Colm Murphy in the full forward line.

The bench features six players who could make their league debuts if introduced.

Keeper Killian Roche, Padraig Kirwan, Ciaran Burke, Kevin Swayne, Cathal Doyle and former Carlow footballer Lee Walker are among the subs.

While Clonaslee-St Manman’s Niall Corbet, who previously played in goals, could also appear from the replacements.

Laois face Sligo at 2pm on Sunday in Markievicz Park.

Laois Senior Football Team 

1- Scott Osborne (Portarlington)
2 – Sean Greene (Emo)
3 – Trevor Collins (Graiguecullen)
4 – Robbie Pigott (Portarlington)
5 – Sean O’Flynn (Courtwood)
6 – Mark Timmons (Graiguecullen)
7 – Brian Byrne (Graiguecullen)
8 – Kieran Lillis (Portlaoise)
9 – James Finn (Ballyfin)
10 – Mark Barry (O’Dempsey’s)
11 – Paul Kingston (Arles-Killeen)
12 – Paddy O’Sullivan (Portarlington)
13 – Eoin Lowry (Killeshin)
14 – Evan O’Carroll (Crettyard)
15 – Colm Murphy (Portarlington)


Killian Roche (Killeshin)
Seamus Lacey (Ballylinan)
Padraig Kirwan (Emo)
Dylan Kavanagh (The Heath)
Damien O’Connor (Timahoe)
Ciaran Burke (Crettyard)
Kevin Swayne (Portlaoise)
Cathal Doyle (Ballyroan-Abbey)
Lee Walker (Graiguecullen)
Brian Daly (St Joseph’s)
Niall Corbet (Clonaslee-St Manman’s)

SEE ALSO – After excellent 2022 campaign, Donoher opts out of Laois setup