Home News Community In Pictures: Academic excellence and sporting achievements recognised at Knockbeg College holds...

In Pictures: Academic excellence and sporting achievements recognised at Knockbeg College holds awards day

The Knockbeg College annual Parents’ Day Mass and Awards Ceremony was held recently to acknowledge and reward the wonderful achievements and efforts of the school community this past year.

Mass was celebrated by distinguished guests; Bishop Nulty, Fr. Dunphy, Mons. Byrne and Fr Furlong, with the school choir adding tremendously to the occasion.

The Merit award is presented to a student in each year group, whom the subject teachers feel has made the greatest progress throughout the year and has put in a huge effort to improve.

The winners were: Ben Corrigan (1st year), Aodhan Bergin (2nd year), Febin Manoj (3rd year), Cathal Buggle (5th year) and Oisin Jackson (6th year).

The Achievement award is presented to the top performing student in each year group based on his results in the formal exams throughout the year.

The winners were: Eoghan Harris (1st year), James McDonnell (2nd year), Kevin McKeon (3rd year), Cathal Hennessy (5th year), and Conor Bowe (6th year).

Congratulations to Jack McGeer and Ryan Clancy for their excellent contribution to Art and Music respectively, with both students receiving awards in these categories.

James Hovenden came away the Comhaltas award in recognition of his dedication to, and promotion of, the genre of Irish music.

The following students received the JP2 Award for the outstanding work they have carried out in their respective parishes: Daniel Brennan (silver), Ewan Morrissey (silver), James Hovenden (gold), John Phiri (gold), and Tadhg Ronan (gold).

On the sporting front, the senior footballers were quite successful, as vice Captain Jesse McEvoy presented the Carlow School trophy to Mr. Ronan while Captain Jamie Conway presented the South Leinster A League title to Mr. Carew.

The 1st year footballers’ captain, Darragh Brennan, presented the Laois Schools Blitz trophy to Fr. Dunphy.

Matthew Farrell, John Phiri, Cian Campion and Aaron Gordon were selected on the SETU Carlow Schools All Stars Hurling team.

While Matthew Farrell, John Phiri, Cialan Brady, Conall Bergin and Aodhan Lowry were selected on the SETU Carlow Schools All Stars Gaelic Football team.

The winners of the Gaelic Star Award were: Mark Buggy (U14), Ennae Byrne (Junior) and Conall Bergin (Senior).

The Senior Basketballers reached the All Ireland Semi Final in the Cup competition, earning them bronze medals for their efforts.

The winners of the Basketballer of the Year Awards were: Liam Hooney (1st year), Aodhan Bergin (2nd year), Mikey Byrne (Junior), Jack Kehoe (Senior) and Conall Bergin (Overall).

In Athletics, several individual and team medals were won in both cross country and track field events in the Laois and South Leinster events.

The Athlete of the year Award winners were Will Duffy (1st year), Finn Craig (Junior), and Makenzie McIvor (Senior).

The overall sportsperson of the year award went to Jack Byrne for his huge contribution to sports in Knockbeg College, representing the school in Gaelic football, basketball and hurling throughout his six years.

There was also congratulations to the following students who have excelled in their specialist field on the sporting front; Jack Kehoe who represents Ireland on the U-19 basketball squad, Tadhg Ronan is a member of the Leinster U-19 rugby panel, Kevin McKeown (Leinster hockey), Febin Manoj (provincial cricket for Leinster), Conor Buckley (Pony Club Games National team), and Finn Craig (representing Ireland in world mountain racing).

The Green Schools Committee worked tirelessly this year to receive the second green schools flag for water. It is no surprise that two of its members, Kevin McKeon and Finn Criag, received the Parents’ Award for their huge contribution to Knockbeg College on many different fronts.


The Amber flag was also retained as a result of organising wellbeing initiatives and promoting positive mental health.

The Parents’ Association continued their backing and with their support Michael Gaffney, John Phiri (both 5th year), Jack Dowling (2nd year) and Eoin Mulkerrins (1st year) are going to the Gaeltacht this summer.

Much loved secretary of 32 years, Noeleen Heffernan, retired this year and that milestone has been marked by both the staff and the Board of Management at a function earlier in the year.

The Parents’ Association and the student body acknowledged the outstanding service of Noeleen to Knockbeg by making a presentation to her on the day.

Every year members of the previous year’s leaving cert class who have achieved outstanding results in their leaving cert are invited back.

From last year’s Leaving Cert class, Fergus Langton, Colin Phelan, Matthew Buggy and Pablo Byrne were present.

Brian Broderick, Daniel Brennan, Bobby Daly, Mikey Kelly, Brian Cox, Luke Doogue, John Phiri, Josh Brady, Gavin Dowling and Adam Hennessy were thanked for their role as Meitheal Leaders in helping first years integrate into Knockbeg and make a smooth transition from primary to post primary school.

Fiacc Brennan, Conall Bergin, Fionn Heslin, Patrick Joyce, Patrick Marnane and Tadhg Ronan operated the position of prefect and were brilliant role models in the school community.

A big part of what Knockbeg prides itself on is the charitable work and fundraising it does for worthy causes.

This year, €5000 was raised for many various charities, such as SVP, Pieta House, Embrace Farm and the Donal Walsh Foundation.

The school annual is hot off the press – only released last week. Huge work has been undertaken by Ms. Fenelon and the editorial team to get it over the line.

Mr. Maxwell helped with the sports section and it is an account of the past year’s activities, both curricular and extra curricular.

A particular mention to Mr. Murphy, Ms. Law and the Kilquan Players for facilitating a raffle during the interval on one of their drama nights in Coon in February.

Well done to one of the TY students, Darren Garcia, who designed the image of the college crest displayed on the back cover.

The price for one annual is just €10 or two can be purchased for €15. All proceeds will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks to school annual photographer Patrick Kelly for supplying pictures that are found above and below:

SEE ALSO – Portlaoise CBS romp to victory in the Leinster Colleges Senior Football League ‘B’ Final

Previous articleTalking Sport Podcast: Our review of the Laois Senior hurlers for 2023
Next articleSadness at the death of Jim McDonald, driving force behind Kilminchy development