Home Sport GAA Laois hurlers name team for clash with Offaly

Laois hurlers name team for clash with Offaly

Cahir Healy returns as Laois look to get back to winning ways
Cahir Healy returns as Laois look to get back to winning ways

Laois manager Eamon Kelly has made two changes to the team which suffered defeat against Kerry last weekend.

Portlaoise’s Cahir Healy comes in to the side to face Offaly in O’Moore Park tomorrow night in place of clubmate Cian Taylor and there are a number of positional changes as a result.

The other change comes in goals as Enda Rowland takes over from Borris-Kilcotton’s Eoin Fleming.

Borris-Kilcotton’s Matthew Whelan moves to centre back with Healy coming in at half back while Rathdowney-Errill’s Patrick Purcell starts at midfield in place of Taylor.

Cha Dwyer and Paddy Whelan have swapped places on the half forward line with the Ballinakill man named to start at the heart of the attack.

This is now a must win game for Laois following last weeks’ defeat.


1. Enda Rowland (St Lazerian’s Abbeyleix)
2. Dwane Palmer (Camross)
3. Leigh Bergin (Shanahoe)
4. Padraig Lawlor (Ballinakill)
5. Cahir Healy (Portlaoise)
6. Matthew Whelan (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)
7. Ryan Mullaney (Castletown)
8. Patrick Purcell (Rathdowney Errill)
9. Ben Conroy (Slieve Bloom)
10. Stephen Maher (Clough Ballacolla)
11. Charles Dwyer (Ballinakill)
12. Paddy Whelan (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)
13. Willie Dunphy (Clough Ballacolla)
14. Neil Foyle (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)
15. Ross King (Rathdowney Errill)

Previous articlePressure on department to source site for new Portlaoise secondary school
Next articleNext Conor McGregor could be a Laois man
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.