Home Sport GAA UPDATED: There really are some classics in the Laois GAA club player...

UPDATED: There really are some classics in the Laois GAA club player nicknames

Laois GAA is full of wonderful nicknames and here is an updated list of them

We released our Laois GAA club player nicknames a week ago and they proved to be extremely popular.

People fell in love with the likes of Eggy, Jungle Joe and Bronson as names that have been roared all over GAA fields throughout the county were collated in the one place for the first time.

We did, however, acknowledge that we would almost certainly leave out some gems and we asked you, our readers, to contact us with those.

And you certainly delivered. So now, we bring you the updated list.

As before, if we left anyone out be sure to get in touch with us and let us know!

Eggy – Ciarán Hennessy
Chops – James Miller

Stackie – Oisin Carroll
Gander – Eoin Reilly
Sheriff – Steven Reilly
Young Frank – Enda Rowland
Dozer – Joe Bergin

Digger – Kevin Meaney
Bundy – Alan McLaughlin
Fish – Dylan Waters
Squirrel – Cialann Mulhall
Colt – David Lawlor
Gluey – Mikey Wall

Bam – Brian Kennedy
Beano – Brian McDonald
Spud – Seán O’Shea
Kinger – Donie and Paul Kingston
Gilly – Paul McDonald

Cha – Charles Dwyer

Merlin – Seán Moore

Baler – John Kiely
Disco – Dermot Leonard
Psycho – Gary Walsh
Messi – James Redmond
China – Eric Kenna
Bubu – Brian Kenna
Bronson – Ciarán Farrell
Pman – Pauric McEvoy
Buckshot – Emmet Doyle

Dawh – Seán O’Dea
Nedved – Adrian McDonald

Tea bag – MJ Tierney

Bugsy – Brian Malone
Twinny – James Baldwin
Twinny – Andrew Baldwin

Butch – Brian Stapleton
Jungle Joe – Owen Drennan

Cricky – Joe Phelan

Dribbler – Pat Phelan
Jockey – John O’Sullivan

Lurch – Michael Kerr

Clonaslee-St Manman’s
Buster – Ger Dunne
Mouse – James Young
Teabags – Glenn McEvoy

Picky – Stephen Maher

Gouleye – Brian Keegan
Taggy – Cian Moffet
Burgers – Owen Joyce
Taz – Kevin Farrell
Fonse – Colin Ryan

Frank – Niall Donoher

Bish – Cormac Phelan
Snowball – Patrick Reilly
Casper – Jason Dunne
Scones – Eoin O’Shea
Terrace – Pa Brennan
Buds – Cristóir Maher
The Ghost – Killian O’Shea
Eyeball – Paul Delaney
The Dub – Seán O’Shea

Chubby – Paul Lawlor
Stinky – Paul Kirwan

Dicey – Danny O’Reilly
Chops – Patrick Scully
Scuba – Stephen Alsybury
Shaq – Shane O’Neill

Fresh – Derek O’Connell
Hayes – Liam Dunne
Bull – John McEvoy
Hoover – Pat Hunt
Feather – Mick Tarpey
Eggs – Rory O’Connell
Chick – Ollie Dixon

Bon – Paschal Brennan
Cur – Mark O’Regan
Barrel – Evan Lowry
Fly – Paddy Doyle
Monkey – Gavin Deering
Zoolander – David Aston
Ducky – Adam Brennan

Cucumber – Conor Quinlan

BMan – Bernard Rochford
Dizzler – Darragh Hanlon

Hatch – Matthew Finlay
Clue – Thomas Finlay
Tin Tin – Peter O’Leary

Pulper – Brendan Delaney
Brillo – Liam Brennan
Dagger – Martin Langton
Paww – Pauric Tierney

Hopper – Kevin McGrath
Squirty – David Murphy
Chilly – Jason Ward

Bruno – Brian McCormack
Chi Chi – Adrian Kelly
Otter – Scott Lawless
Colossus – Dean Cullen
Whiskey Jaws – Graham Brody
Madness – Ricky Maher
Sweetcorn – Eoghan Feane

Giant – Jason Phelan
Fonsie – Liam O’Connell
Roddy – Ross King

Daisy – Damien Gorman

Italian Scallion – Timmy Carroll

Slieve Bloom
Smiler – Ben Conroy

Slieve Margy
Psycho – Gary Walsh

Gooch – Paul Simms

St Fintan’s Mountrath
Yugie – Michael Boyne
Socks – Patsy Sydes
Snakey – Michael Brown

St Joseph’s
Squeaks – Liam Kealy
Froggy – PJ Rowan
Crow – Conor Kealy

Magoo – Kieran Delaney
Butch – John Donohue
Deuce – Paul Begley
Small – Cormac Delaney
Rooney – Conor Delaney
Rat – Jamie Kavanagh
Barney – Darren Maher
Runt – Alan Delaney
Friggy – Damien Murphy
iTunes – Stephen Lawlor
Cookie – Justin Lalor

The Harps
Tucker – Tommy Kenna
Goat – Eoin Clancy

The Heath
Noodle – Aidan Bergin
Ram – Eoin Delaney

The Rock
Sticky – Ciarán Carroll
Moses – Brian Conlon

Zigger – Eoin Culliton
Twisty Back – Mick Ramsbottom
Weasel – Joe Foyle

Geek – John Connor
Baah – Paddy Callaghan
Wiggins – Diarmud Hosey
Rat – Brian Hosey
Gento – Declan Callaghan
Mouse – Cathal Brophy
Brock – Damian Lalor
Brock Jnr – Dylan Lalor
The Dye – Fintan Callaghan

READ ALSO – Laois GAA Power Rankings: Football

Previous articleBusiness park and nursing home planned for Killeshin
Next articleLong-serving Whelan looking forward to a shot at Wexford
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.