Home Sport Rugby Former Portlaoise rugby players shine as Ireland U20s defeat Munster

Former Portlaoise rugby players shine as Ireland U20s defeat Munster

Sean Masterson and Conor Kelly were part of the Ireland U-20 rugby team

Ireland U-20s 26 Munster XV 10

Ireland U-20s continued their preparations for the upcoming Six Nations championship by defeating a Munster XV this afternoon.

And two former Portlaoise players performed very well in the 16 point win.

Forward Seán Masterson started the game at flanker while Conor Kelly kicked a conversion after entering the game as a second half replacement.

Ireland grabbed an early try but Munster, a side put together with a mixture of academy, club and schools players, fought back to leave it 7-5 at half time.

Munster then took the lead on the resumption of play with a try from Mark Duffy but that would be the last score for the province.

Munster’s Mikey Wilson was sin binned for a deliberate knock on, and Ireland capitalised as Max Kearney scored in the corner following a long looping pass from the excellent Harry Byrne.

When Byrne knocked over the extras from right on the touchline, Ireland now led 14-10 after 55 minutes.

The next twenty plus minutes were hard fought and scrappy from both sides as the two sets of management emptied their benches.

With time running out, Peter Sullivan was to put the icing on the cake for Ireland, twice, as he crossed for two well taken tries to seal the 26-10 win. Again, Byrne was involved in both, with substitute Conor Kelly adding one conversion.

Next up for Noel McNamara’s side is the opening game of the Six Nations against France on February 2.

Both Masterson and Kelly will be hopeful that this showing will help them make that squad.

Ireland U20: James McCarthy (UL Bohemian), Peter Sullivan (Lansdowne), Tommy O’Brien (UCD RFC), James Newey (IQ Rugby), Angus Kernohan (Ballymena RFC), Harry Byrne (UCD), Hugh O’Sullivan (Clontarf), James French (UCC), Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne), Jack Aungier (St Marys RFC), Cormac Daly (Clontrf RFC), Jack Dunne (DUFC), Sean Masterson (Corinthians RFC), Matthew Agnew (Ballymena), Jack O’Sullivan (UCC). Subs Used: Jordan Duggan (Naas RFC), Diarmuid Barron (Garryowen), Joe Byrne (DUFC), Charlie Ryan (UCD), Max Kearney (DUFC), Ronan Foley (UCD), Johnny Stewart (Queen’s University), Conor Kelly (Clontarf), Sean O’Brien (Clontarf), Michael Silvester (DUFC)

Munster: Conor Hayes (Young Munster), Even O’Gorman (Clontarf/Academy), Kieran Dunne (Shannon),  Dave McCarthy (Garryowen) (C), Liam Coombes (Garryowen/Academy); Peter Sylvester (UCC), Colin Sisk (Dolphin); Joey Conway (UL Bohs/Academy), Tadhg McCarthy (UCC), Bryan O’Connor (UCC); Ronan Coffey (Shannon), Mikey Wilson (Garryowen); Sean Duffy (Cork Constitution), Jack Daly (Garryowen), John Foley (Shannon/Academy).Subs from: Replacements Used: John Hodnett (UCC), Josh Wycherley (Cistercian College Roscrea), Pat Casey (Cork Constitution), Rob O’Donovan (UCC/Academy), Denis Broderick (Midleton RFC), Charlie Carmody (Shannon), Jack Lyons (Young Munster), Ben Healy (Glenstal Abbey), Nathan Randles (Shannon).

SEE ALSO – Unholy row at Portlaoise prison during Christmas mass

Previous articleThe late Alan Mulhall celebrated in touching Crossfit tribute
Next articleBest of 2017 – WATCH: Grenade detonated safely at Stradbally Hall
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.