Home Sport GAA Four changes for Laois hurlers ahead of Galway clash

Four changes for Laois hurlers ahead of Galway clash

Ross King was in fine form for Laois today against Meath

Brought to you in association with Joe Mallon Motors Portlaoise

Laois manager Eamonn Kelly has made four changes to the starting team to face Galway in O’Moore Park tomorrow night.

One of the changes are enforced through injury while the other three appear to be tactical.

Clough-Ballacolla’s Lee Cleere went off early in the defeat to Limerick with injury and his place in the side goes to man who replaced him last weekend – Mountmellick’s Donnacha Hartnett.

Borris-Kilcotton’s Colm Stapleton replaces Jack Kelly in defence and goes in the other corner back spot with Ballinakill’s Podge Lawlor coming out to wing back.

There is no change in midfield but there is a switch in the half forward line.

Ballinakill’s Seán Downey, who replaced injured clubmate Cha Dwyer before throw in last week, has been switched with Clough-Ballacolla’s Aidan Corby.

Meanwhile, the fourth and final change is in the full forward line where Clough-Ballacolla’s Willie Dunphy comes in for Rathdowney-Errill’s Paddy McCane.

The game throws in at 7pm on Saturday evening and we will be there to live blog all the action as it happens.

LAOIS TEAM: Enda Rowland (Abbeyleix); Donncha Hartnett (Mountmellick), Leigh Bergin (Shanahoe), Colm Stapleton (Borris-Kilcotton); Podge Lawlor (Ballinakill), Matthew Whelan (Borris-Kilcotton), Eric Killeen (Rathdowney-Errill); Paddy Purcell (Rathdowney-Errill), James Ryan (Rathdowney-Errill); Aidan Corby (Clough-Ballacolla), Ben Conroy (Slieve Bloom), Cian Taylor (Portlaoise); Ross King (Rathdowney-Errill), Neil Foyle (Borris-Kilcotton), Willie Dunphy (Clough-Ballacolla)

Galway have also named their team for tomorrow’s match – and it includes eight of the team which won the All-Ireland last year.

GALWAY TEAM: James Skehill, Adrian Tuohy, John Hanbury, Shane Bannon; Greg Lally, Padraig Mannion, Aidan Harte; Johnny Coen; Padraig Breheny, Sean Linnane, Joseph Cooney, Niall Burke; Conor Whelan, Conor Cooney, Davey Glennon

SEE ALSO – Two changes on Laois football team ahead of trip to Leitrim

Previous articleDisappointment for Portlaoise soccer; Masterson features in U-20 rugby loss and Miller in line for latest cap
Next articleTwo changes on Laois football team ahead of trip to Leitrim
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.