Home Sport Soccer Cup final awaits as Portlaoise steal the win in extra-time

Cup final awaits as Portlaoise steal the win in extra-time

A general image of the Portlaoise AFC dressing room. Credit @PortlaoiseAFC
Portlaoise 1 Maynooth University 0 (after extra time)
LSL Lummy O’Reilly Cup Semi Final

This game looked destined for a penalty shootout, with both sides unable to break the deadlock for over 110 minites. A seemingly harmless corner caused havoc with the Maynooth defence and it provided Colm Coss with opportunity to slot home the decider.

The game was a fast open and affair, with both side’s defence coming out on top throughout. The opening half didn’t possess any real chances but Sean McCormack pulled off a fabulous save midway through the first 45 minutes. The sides went in at the break level, 0-0.

The second half was a much more livelier affair with Portlaoise’s Colm Poole forcing a spectacular save from the Maynooth keeper. Maynooth could of grabbed a goal their own when a bicycle kick just flew over the bar.

Another chance went a begging for Maynooth when a flying cross was met by a flick on that just crept over, before Sean McCormack was forced to pull off another save from distance. Portlaoise then had a chance to pull ahead when Danny Molloy’s cross was nearly turned in by Colm Poole.

The game was forced to extra time and it started well for Portlaoise when Colm Poole’s corner was headed onto the post by Danny Molloy before Colm Coss snatched at the rebound and struck the crossbar. At the extra time break it remained at deadlock.

The game was finally given a goal when Jason Caffrey’s corner caused the Maynooth keeper to panic and miss the ball, which bounced nicely for Colm Coss who stuck it in the back of the net. A three on two counter attack led to Portlaoise being awarded a last minute penalty, which Jason Murphy failed to convert and the game finished 1-0, booking their place in the Lummy O’Reilly Cup final.

PORTLAOISE AFC TEAM: Sean McCormack, Oisin Fitzpatrick, Eoghan White, James Mullaney, Jimmy Dermody, Brian Ging, Colm Coss, Colm Poole, Shane Collins, Jason Murphy, Aaron Rafter. SUBS: Jason Caffrey, Danny Molloy, Jody Dillon, Emmanual Okdara, Niall Doran, Mark Dunne, Alan Sheridan.

SEE ALSO – Six Talking Points as the Laois hurlers lose to Westmeath