Home GAA Cumann na mBunscol Six-goal Mulhall leads Clonaslee to Division 2 plate victory

Six-goal Mulhall leads Clonaslee to Division 2 plate victory

The winning Clonaslee side in the Division 2 plate final

Clonaslee 8-5 Raheen 2-4
Roinn 2 Hurling Plate

Paul Mulhall is certainly a name to watch out for in the future. The young Clonaslee man scored 6-3 for his side today and managed to cover all aspects of the game, including blocking, long pucks, and those crucial, crucial goals.

Raheen secured their first point from Jack Coogan in the first minute. James Dunne got on the scoreboard for Clonaslee with a goal in the second minute to start what would be this 10-goal fest.

Dunne and Mulhall added one point each with Mulhall striking his first free straight at goals, landing the ball in the back of the net.

He followed up on this with a peach from the right-wing but it would be five minutes until Clonaslee would score again, with two goals in the space of a minute coming from Mulhall.

The final minutes of the second-half saw Mulhall convert yet another goal while Liam Conroy pucked over a score for Raheen. The score at half-time read Clonaslee 5-3 Raheen 0-2.

Goals galore

Liam Whelan got his side rolling in the second half with a point in the third minute. James Dunne replied with a point for Clonaslee before Mark Hearns buried the sliotar in the goals in the 30th minute.

The Raheen side who lost in the Division 2 plate today

Fair Play award winner Whelan followed this with a point for Raheen and a goal of his own in the 32nd minute. Paul Mulhall converted a free and followed with a brilliant solo run through the defence to land his fifth goal of the match.

Conor Thorton got his name on the board with a goal flicked in off the ground and Mulhall added a sixth goal with his last strike of game. The match finished

But unfortunately for Raheen, Clonaslee took control back from here. The game finished Clonaslee 8-5 Raheen 2-4.

SCORERS: Clonaslee: Paul Mulhall 6-3 (1-1 free) (0-1 65′) James Dunne 1-2, Conor Thorton 1-0. Raheen: Mark Hearns 1-0, Liam Whelan 1-2, Jack Coogan 0-1, Liam Conroy 0-1

RAHEEN: Evan Farrell; Jack Farrell, Jim Holland; Liam Whelan, Liam Conroy; Mark Hearns, Jack Coogan. Subs: No 8 for Coogan (28 minutes)

CLONASLEE: Jack Smith; Manus Dunne, Darragh Mulhall; Paul Mulhall, James Dunne; Caolan Callaghan, Gary Fitzpatrick. Subs: Conor Thorton for Fitzpatrick (32 minutes)

SEE ALSO – LIVE BLOG: Follow all the action from Day 1 of the Cumann na mBunscol hurling finals