Home GAA Cumann na mBunscol Ballacolla pull through extra-time test against Clonaghadoo

Ballacolla pull through extra-time test against Clonaghadoo

The triumphant St Pius X Ballacolla side who defeated Clonaghadoo.
Clonaghadoo 6-7   Ballacolla 8-7 (AET)
Laois Cumann na mBunscol Roinn 4 Hurling Championship

This goal fest started from the off as Sean Kavanagh rattled the net to give Ballacolla an early lead. Jack Weston opened his account for Clonaghadoo with a nice point. Evan Cassin displayed his quality scoring three points before Clonaghadoo’s Niall Lalor grabbed their first goal.

But Sean Kavanagh struck back for Ballacolla with his second goal. Clonaghadoo would finish strong with a much need goal just before the break by Cathal McEvoy. Ballacolla led 2-4 to 2-2 at the half.

Ballacolla got off to a flier when Evan Cassin rattled the net three times in the first eight minutes of the half. But Jack Weston picked away at Ballacolla’s lead with 1-2 of his own and when Aaron Tarpey stuck the ball in the Ballacolla net, a Clonaghadoo come back looked on the cards.

And it certainly was as the very impressive Jack Weston showed the way grabbed another goal and two points, the last of which seemed like the winner, but Evan Cassin was on hand to force extra-time with a free.

The Clonaghadoo side who lost out bravely against Ballacolla.

It was tit-for-tat in the opening half of extra-time, as another Evan Cassin, followed by a Jack Weston point and a second goal for Cathal McEvoy gave Clonaghadoo a one point lead, but it was to change in the second half as Evan Cassin showed his class yet again with two goals and a great point to insure the win for Ballacolla.

SCORERS: CLONAGHADOO: Jack Weston 2-7, Cathal McEvoy 2-0, Niall Lalor 1-0, Aaron Tarpey 1-0 BALLACOLLA: Evan Cassin 6-7, Sean Kavanagh 2-0.

CLONAGHDOO: Ben O’Keefe, Rory Grehan, Darragh Hughes, Cathal McEvoy, Niall Lalor, Joe Kirwin, Jack Weston, Aaron Tarpey, Adam Hunt, Evin Daly, Rory Lalor, Oisin Lalor.

BALLACOLLA: Adam White, Tirna Bergin, Clodagh Duggan, Eoin Duggan, Sean Kavanagh, Evan Cassin, John Coonan, Ben Holohan, Debbie Geoghegan, Sally Anne Geoghegan, Abigail Towler, Molly Cassin, Abi Kirwin, Ella Kirwin, Isabelle Ostapov, Shay Devine, Christian Ostapov, Kyran Perse.

SEE ALSO – 20 reasons we all remember the Cumann na mBunscol

Previous articleSafety concerns over traffic parking associated with local Mosque
Next articleSix-goal Mulhall leads Clonaslee to Division 2 plate victory
A former Knockbeg student, and is currently a student in the University of Limerick trying to scrape a BA in History and Politics. A marquee player in the goals for Annanough, but well capable of doing a job in full-forward and has the knack to turn his hand to any sport (except running). Only starting out in his journalistic career but already the specialist farming and property reporter. Happiest when Liverpool and Laois are winning!