Home Sport GAA Laois lose out to dominant Dubs in minor hurling championship

Laois lose out to dominant Dubs in minor hurling championship

Laois minor hurling team 2018

Brought to you in association with O’Sullivan Motors Roscrea

Dublin 2-21 Laois 0-7
Leinster Minor Hurling Championship Tier 1 Round 1

Dublin came out strong victors today in O’Moore Park, helped in part by corner-forward Liam Dunne’s astonishing 1-10. No scores from play is also a huge concern for Enda Lyon’s side as they come up against teams like Dublin and now Kilkenny.

Things weren’t looking good for Laois as they relied on frees and didn’t manage to score a point from play in the first-half.  Each Dublin forward landed a score on the board and managed to open up the Laois as the half on.

Dublin opened their scoring in the second minute with a Dara Purcell free. Purcell added to this with another free on the right-wing a minute later.

Laois worked hard for their frees and were rewarded in the fifth minute as Adam Kirwan pucked over a close-range shot on the 21 yard line.

Laois hassled Dublin well around the half-forward line and a foul on Alan Connolly gave Kirwan his second point from the free spot.

A Mark Hennessy flick to Kirwan could have resulted in Laois putting the first goal on the scoreboard, but Dublin goalkeeper Jack Lambert was letting nothing past him in the first.

It wasn’t until the 11th minute that another score was registered, from another Laois free, with Kirwan making no mistakes for his third point.

Dublin’s hat-trick scorer against Kilkenny Luke Swan got his first point of the match in the twelfth minute which was followed up with a point from his centre-forward Pearce Christie.

Purcell added another point and a Dublin goal chance was stopped by Danny Brennan as he pulled Swan down. Liam Dunne stepped up for this free and a second one a minute later, converting both opportunities.

Purcell added another before Christie handpassed the sliotar to an umarked Purcell, who ripped open the back of the net for Dublin’s first goal in the 24 minute.

A Kirwan free and pip over the bar by Purcell left the sides Dublin 1-10 to Laois’s 0-5 at half time.

Dublin’s Liam Dunne put over the first score of the second half in the 34th minute, with Laois’s Cathal O’Shaughnessy unlucky to see his shot go to the left and wide a minute later.

Dunne’s day in O’Moore Park

Dunne made no mistake converting four frees within five minutes before Laois replied with an Alan Connolly won free scored by Kirwan.

However Dublin were on the crest of a wave and there was no stopping Dunne as he bounced the ball on the ground before volleying it into the back of the Laois net.

Another two close range Dunne frees were added to by points  from subsitute Sean Foran and Swan.

A last-minute free from Kirwan wasn’t enough and Laois’s fate was sealed with a final point from Dublin’s Conor Murray to leave Dublin the victors at 2-21 to 0-7.

SCORERS – DUBLIN: Liam Dunne 1-10 (0-9 frees), Dara Purcell 1-2, Conor Murray 0-3, Luke Swan 0-2, Aaron O’Toole, Pearce Christie, Ciaran Foley, Seamus Fenton 0-1 each. LAOIS: Adam Kirwan 0-7 (0-7 frees)

LAOIS: Lorcan Fitzpatrick (The Harps), Ben Shore (Castletown), Danny Brennan (Park-Ratheniska), Gearoid O’Neill (Trumera); Keilan Kelly (Borris-Kilcotton), Conor Cosgrove (Rosenallis), Thep Fitzpatrick (Rathdowney-Errill); Fionan Mahoney (Abbeyleix), Tadhg Cuddy (Castletown); Ciarán Byrne (Abbeyleix), Allan Connolly (Ballyfin), Evan Hawkes (Clough-Ballacolla); Mark Hennessy (Clough-Ballacolla), Cathal O’Shaughnessy (Ballinakill), Adam Kirwan (Trumera) Subs: Niall Carey (Portlaoise) for Kelly (half time), DJ O’Callaghan (Clonaslee St Manman’s) for Hawkes (half time), Fionn Holland (Clonad) for Shore (52 mins), Shane Farrell (Rosenallis) for Byrne (55 mins)

DUBLIN: Jack Lambert; Kevin Byrne, Ciaran Hogan, Tom Cullen; Eoin Carney, Alex O’Neill, Iain Ó hEithir; Donal Leavy, Daragh Power; Conor Murray, Pearce Christie, Ciarán Foley; Liam Dunne, Luke Swan, Dara Purcell. Subs: Aaron O’Toole for Christie (41 mins), Finn Murphy for Byrne (43 mins), Colm Walsh for Cullen (46 mins), Fergal Ryan for Leavy (50 mins), Seamus Fenton for Purcell (54 mins)

Referee: Richie Fitzsimons (Offaly)

SEE ALSO – 14-man Laois defeat Antrim to throw Joe McDonagh Cup hopes a lifeline

Previous article14-man Laois defeat Antrim to throw Joe McDonagh Cup hopes a lifeline
Next articleSecond-half turnaround sees Rosenallis overcome Mountmellick in division 1B
Siún Lennon joined LaoisToday in a full-time capacity after studying Journalism and New Media in the University of Limerick. She hails from Rosenallis and her interests vary from news, sports and politics.