Home Sport GAA Laois U-21 hurling and U-20 football teams named ahead of championship openers

Laois U-21 hurling and U-20 football teams named ahead of championship openers

Teams named

Two Laois county teams get their championships underway in the next few days and they have both named their starting teams tonight.

The first of them in action is the Laois U-21 hurlers who face Dublin in O’Moore Park on Saturday at 2pm.

Eamonn Kelly, manager of the senior team, is also in charge of this team and he has named the following starting 15.

Laois U-21 team: Steven Kelly; Fiachra C-Fennell, Frank Flanagan, Lee Cleere; Jake Creagh, Eric Killeen, Padraig Delaney; Jake Cranny, Brian Corby; Ciaran Comerford, Eanna Lyons, Seán Downey; Paddy McCane, Mark Dowling, Mark Kavanagh

Meanwhile, on Monday, the Laois U-20 footballers begin their campaign in this brand new competition.

Manager Billy O’Loughlin’s team find themselves in a group alongside Kildare, Wicklow and Meath.

They travel to Newbridge on Monday evening to take on a highly fancied Kildare side.

And ahead of that game, they have named the following team:

Laois U-20 team: Matthew Byron; James Kelly, Diramuid Bennett, Richie Hitchcock; Conor Brennan, Shane Bolger, Seán O’Flynn; Rob Tyrell, Eoin Dunne; David Connolly, Peter Kealy, James Phelan; John Kavanagh, Diarmuid Whelan, Evan Lowry

LaoisToday will bring you live blogs and match reports from both games.

SEE ALSO – Battling Laois minor hurlers lose out to Kilkenny


Previous articleBattling Laois minor hurlers lose out to Kilkenny
Next articleBREAKING: Exit poll predicts Ireland has repealed the Eight Amendment
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.