Home We Are Laois Remember the Game Remember the Game: Five of the best as The Heath clinches U-12...

Remember the Game: Five of the best as The Heath clinches U-12 football title in 2000

The Heath 5-5 Portarlington 2-6
2000 Laois U-12 Division 2 Football League Final

This week’s remember the game has a whiff of nostalgia off it, as The Heath managed to secure their first underage title in more than six years by overcoming Portarlington in the 2000 Laois U-12 Division 2 Football final.

The game was play in Stradbally, and the day was scorcher and allowed for some great football to take place, but not many would have predicted an eight goal thriller.

It was a game of two halves, as Portarlington dominated the proceedings in the opening half taking a strong lead in at the break.

At the break, Portarlington had been really the only team performing well, but their 1-4 to 0-1 lead at the halfway point was not a good reflection their dominance.

The Heath management team must take some credit, as they issued a number of positional changes at the break, notably moving Colin Nestor to full-back, Philip Browne to half back while Liam Buggy was tasked with commanding midfield.

Three quick fire goals from Shane Booth, Barry Whelan and Matthew Callaghan allow The Heath to secure the lead for the first time.

They never looked back as they held off Portarlington’s challenge, and they cemented their position when Shane and John Booth added two further goals.

They ran out comfortable eight point winners, but those who were in attendance experienced a thrilling and skillful game of football and many of the stars on the day eventually pushed forward to compete with Laois on an inter-county level.

SCORERS – The Heath: Barry Whelan 1-3, Shane Booth 2-0, John Booth 1-1, Matthew Callaghan 1-0, Joe Egan 0-1. Portarlington: Colin Lennon 1-2, Damien Finlay 1-0, Peter Braughan 0-2, Jason Moore 0-1, Ronan Flanagan.

THE HEATH: Martin Dowling; James Nerney, Philip Browne, Cathal Browne; Michael Mulhare, Liam Buggy, Patrick Norton; Tony Connolly, Colin Nestor; Matthew Callaghan, Barry Whelan, Joe Egan; Seamus Furlong, Shane Booth, John Booth. Subs: Brian Delaney.

PORTARLINGTON: Michael Webster; Jonathon Fulham, David Madden, Pauric Burbage; Stuart Mulpeter, Simon Ball, Philip Mulpeter; Peter Braughan, Jason Moore; Colin Lennon, Christopher Booth, Ronan Flanagan; Darragh Lennon, Damien Finlay, Richard O’Brien. Subs: Jamie Leavy.

Alf Harvey was their on the day and captured some great photos.

SEE ALSO – Laois GAA club distance themselves from local councillor’s comments

Previous articleGardai launch investigation following Mountmellick assault
Next articleThe best barbecue steak burger in Ireland comes from Laois
A former Knockbeg student, and is currently a student in the University of Limerick trying to scrape a BA in History and Politics. A marquee player in the goals for Annanough, but well capable of doing a job in full-forward and has the knack to turn his hand to any sport (except running). Only starting out in his journalistic career but already the specialist farming and property reporter. Happiest when Liverpool and Laois are winning!