Home GAA Cumann na mBunscol Prolific Paige fires Our Lady’s Meadow Durrow to glory

Prolific Paige fires Our Lady’s Meadow Durrow to glory


Durrow 6-4 Knock 4-7
Roinn 4 Girls Shield

Durrow withstood a ferocious Knock comeback to the Roinn 4 Girls Shield this afternoon.

Paige Boyhan was the star of the show as her five goals proved to be the difference between the teams in the end.

Durrow were in control for most of the half and built up a big lead by half time.

Captain Paige Boyhan was their chief scorer as she converted four goals in the first period. Lilly Knowles chipped in with three points while Aoife Gee got their other goal.

Knock struggled to get forward but they did look dangerous when they managed it. Aoife Cahill scored a great goal while she also pointed from a free.

Aoife Gorman landed two more points but Knock, playing in their first girls final in 10 years, trailed by 5-3 to 1-3 at half time.

Knock NS needed a good start to the second half and they got it with a goal from Aoife Cahill and a point from Aoibhinn McKinney.

But that girl Paige Boyhan pounced for her fifth goal and then added a point to give Durrow some breathing space once more.

But Knock kept going and Aoife Cahill struck for her third goal before sub Ellen McDonald, who made a big impact when introduced, scored a point.

Aoife Gorman got another point for Knock before McDonald got herself a goal to set up a dramatic final couple of minutes.

Siofra Fitzpatrick got a point to leave three between them but there would be time for no more as Durrow hung on.

Knock NS

SCORERS – DURROW: Paige Boyhan 5-1, Lilly Knowles 0-3, Aoife Gee 1-0 KNOCK: Aoife Cahill 3-2, Aoife Gorman 0-3, Aoibhinn McKinney 0-1, Ellen McDonald 1-1, Siofra Fitzpatrick 0-1

DURROW: Katie Dunne; Olivia Hovenden, Lauren Kenny; Grainne Murphy, Aoife Gee, Lilly Knowles, Paige Boyhan Subs: Millie Conroy, Emily Jacob, Lillian Quinn, Abbey McEvoy, Kayla Coffey, Matilda Umanee, Olivia Hourihan, Amelia Starnes, Amy Grady

KNOCK: Niamh Dundon; Laura Kinsella, Rachel Miller; Aoife Gorman, Aoibhinn McKinney; Aoife Cahill, Siofra Fitzpatrick Subs: Ellen McDonald, Alex Smith, Ava Brennan, Ava Brophy, Elaine Miller, Sarah McGrath, Niamh McKinney, Erin Costigan, Aine Carter, Enya Costigan, Alex Cahill, Kiera Gorman, Hazel Palin, Niamh Kehoe, Molly McGrath, Analee Fitzpatrick, Elle Donovan, Clodagh Fleming, Caoilfhionn Brady