Home GAA Cumann na mBunscol The Swan survive dramatic Barrowhouse comeback to prevail

The Swan survive dramatic Barrowhouse comeback to prevail

The Swan NS

Barrowhouse 3-9 The Swan 5-4
Roinn 4 Boys Shield

What a dramatic game that was! Barrowhouse looked be down and out at half time as they trailed by ten points at half time.

They produced a stunning second half comeback to take the lead with five minutes to play only for a late goal from The Swan via Cillian Gorman to help them take the win.

The Swan were well on top at the start of the game. Lauren Rowan kicked the games first point before Bobby Rowan struck for two excellently taken goals.

Barrowhouse struggled to get forward early on and a Gerard Kenny point was all they could manage in that period.

However, the impressive Ben Howe then began to have more of an influence for Barrowhouse and he reeled off 1-2 in quick succession to bring his side back into the game.

But The Swan finished the half very well as Bobby Rowan completed his hat-trick and James Keating scored another goal to make it 4-4 to 1-3 at half time in their favour.

Barrowhouse sub Finn Gleeson got the second half scoring underway and the gap was back to six a moment later when Ben Howe rattled the net for a second time.

Shane Lawlor, with a brace, and Ben Howe cut the margin to three as The Swan had still not scored in the second half.

Ben Howe took his tally to 2-4 before completing his hat-trick to give Barrowhouse for the first time as we entered the closing stages.

But just as it looked like The Swan were beaten, Cillian Gorman broke down the field and scored their third goal to put them two points up.

Gerard Kenny pointed from close range to set up a dramatic conclusion but The Swan held on to win by one.

Barrowhouse NS

SCORERS – Barrowhouse: Ben Howe 3-4, Gerard Kenny 0-2, Finn Gleeson 0-1, Shane Lawlor 0-2 The Swan: Lauren Rowan 0-2, Bobby Rowan 3-2, James Keating 1-0, Cillian Gorman 1-0

BARROWHOUSE: Sean Baldwin, Cillian Langton, Ben Howe; Shane Lawlor, Gerard Kenny; Daniel Maher, Cian Lawlor. Subs: Jimmy Grufferty, Daniel McGee, Ryan Nolan, Ryan O’Shaughnessy, Cathal Burke, Finn Gleeson, Adam Gray, Liam Gray, Cian Lawlor, Zak Lawlor

THE SWAN: Ciaran Fleming; James Keating, Charlie Crehan; Bobby Rowan, Lauren Rowan, Lucy Knowles-Bergin, Cillian Gorman. Subs: Jake Gohory, Cormac Dineen, Ava Rowan

SEE ALSO – Magic Moore fires St Colman’s to Cumann na mBunscol glory