Home Sport GAA Remember The Game: Courtwood triumph over Portlaoise in 2003 Minor ‘B’ final

Remember The Game: Courtwood triumph over Portlaoise in 2003 Minor ‘B’ final

Courtwood 4-5 Portlaoise 1-7
2003 Laois Minor ‘B’ Football Final

In this weekend’s Remember The Game, we take a look back at the Minor B football final from 15 years ago.

Courtwood took on the second string of Portlaoise in the final and triumphed by seven points in the end.

Brendan Wilson was the star of the show on the day as he scored a stunning total of 3-3.

Indeed it was a Courtwood team that contained a number of players who would go on to life the IFC title this year.

Barry Donnolly, Robbie Flynn, Paddy Wilson and Naill Donoher all started on the team and they played a big role in the club’s historic victory last month.

A number of the Portlaoise team who lost that B final went on to win the A final with their club later that year.

Shane Corbett, Paul Monaghan, Pat Ryan and Gary Dunphy were all on the A team that defeated St Joseph’s by 3-11 to 0-7.

Check out the teams and some great photos from the game below.

SCORERS: Courtwood: Brendan Wilson 3-3, Shane Donoher 1-1, Aaron Burke 0-1. Portlaoise: Pat Ryan 1-1, Brian McCormack 0-1, Paul Monaghan 0-1, Larry Fitzpatrick 0-1, Derek Delaney 0-1, Joey Delaney 0-1, Darren Dunphy 0-1.

Courtwood: Niall Miller; Barry Donnelly, Robert Wilson, Stephen Wilson, David Duffy, Robert Flynn, Desmond McNair, Paddy Wilson, David O’Connell, Aaron Burke, Niall Donoher, Michael Carroll, Shane Donoher, Brendan Wilson, David Duffy. Subs: Damien O’Connor, Thomas Kavanagh.

Portlaoise: Shane Corbett; Fintan Walsh, John Dunne, Denis Tynan, Paul Collins, Wayne McFall, Keith Murphy, Paul Monaghan, Derek Delaney, Joey Delaney, Darren Dunphy, Richie Graham, Brian McCormack, Pat Ryan, Gary Dunphy. Subs: Brian Dunne, Eoin Fitzpatrick, Larry Fitzpatrick.


SEE ALSO – Ross King speaks about county final incident in national newspaper interview