Home Sport GAA UPDATED: Laois hurling championship formats to remain unchanged but seeding will apply

UPDATED: Laois hurling championship formats to remain unchanged but seeding will apply

The format for the Senior and Senior A hurling championships will remain as they were in 2018 for 2019 following a decision at last night’s County Board meeting.

Club delegates were asked to consider a proposal from the Fixture Review Committee which sought for the championships to go back to the old knock-out format.

Back in January, clubs voted on a joint proposal from Clough-Ballacolla and Rathdowney-Errill which saw the introduction of a group stage in both Senior and Senior A.

Teams were split into two groups of four with the top team qualifying straight for the semi final while the second and third placed teams headed for the quarter finals.

That meant that the bottom team in each of the groups headed for the relegation final.

It ensured that all teams had a minimum of four championship matches but the Fixture Review Committee cited concerns about how competitive these games were.

In the Senior, champions Camross lost their first game but were able to recover to go on and win the championship.

While in the Senior A, Portlaoise lost to Rosenallis and Clonaslee but a win over Trumera got them through to the quarter final where they ultimately went on to win the competition and go on to reach the Leinster final which they lost to Graigue-Ballycallan.

However, the feeling among delegates at the meeting was that the championships were good in their existing format.

And they also took the decision that seeding will now apply in the Senior hurling championship for 2019.

So what that means is that the two finalists and the two beaten semi finalists will be drawn into different groups next year.

Camross and Rathdowney-Errill cannot play in the same group while neither will Borris-Kilcotton and Ballinakill.

SEE ALSO – The end of Gaels teams in Laois as we know them following County Board vote