Home Sport GAA Laois senior football team named for final O’Byrne Cup game

Laois senior football team named for final O’Byrne Cup game

The Laois footballers will conclude their O’Byrne Cup campaign on Saturday in Wicklow.

John Sugrue’s men travel to Bray Emmett’s to face their hosts in a game that is a dead rubber for both teams.

Laois lost both of their opening games to Wexford and Meath while Wicklow went down to Wexford and Louth – meaning neither can qualify for the semi final regardless of the result.

So with that in mind, Laois manager John Sugrue has decided once again to experiment with his starting 15.

He has made 12 changes to the team and there are a number of very interesting inclusions.

Portlaoise duo David Seale and Conor Boyle return to the panel for the first time in a number of years and are in to start.

Meanwhile, Arles-Killeen’s Donie Kingston, who picked up an injury in the Divisional championships, makes his first start of the season.

Just keeper Eoghan Keogh, midfielder Rory Bracken and full forward Evan O’Carroll retain their places from the last day.

The game throws in at 6pm on Saturday in Bray Emmett’s.

LAOIS: Eoghan Keogh (Mountmellick); David Seale (Portlaoise), Mark Timmons (Graiguecullen), Adam Campion (St Joseph’s); Eoin Buggie (Stradbally), Paddy O’Sullivan (Portarlington), Trevor Collins (Graiguecullen); Rory Bracken (O’Dempsey’s), John O’Loughlin (St Brigid’s); James Mullaney (Castletown), Conor Boyle (Portlaoise), Brian Byrne (Graiguecullen); Michael Keogh (St Joseph’s), Evan O’Carroll (Crettyard), Donie Kingston (Arles-Killeen)

SEE ALSO – 19 Laois people to watch out for in 2019