Home Sport GAA Arles-Killeen and St Joseph’s advance to Kelly Cup final

Arles-Killeen and St Joseph’s advance to Kelly Cup final

St Joseph’s and Arles-Killeen will battle it out next weekend for the 2019 Kelly Cup.

Both sides came through their semi finals today and here is a rundown of how both games went.

Arles-Killeen 2-19 Killeshin 0-9 

Arles-Killeen have racked up a third big win of 2019 as they dismissed the challenge of Killeshin in Mageny this afternoon.

After big wins over Crettyard and Timahoe in the previous rounds, Killeen has 16 points to spare here as they marched to the final.

Killeshin actually started the game very well and had the better of the opening quarter of play.

A brace of Cathal Brennan points along with scores from Evan Lowry, Paddy Doyle and Michael Doran helped them into a 0-5 to 0-3 lead by the midpoint of the half.

But they failed to score again before half time as Killeen took over. Jason Enright converted a penalty before Sean O’Shea struck for a second goal to give Killeen the lead.

Donie Brennan landed five first half points too as Killeen took a 2-11 to 0-5 lead at the break.

Conor Keightley, Sean O’Shea, Jason Enright and Niall O’Rourke all pointed to put the tie beyond any doubt in the second half.

In fairness to Killeshin, they did finish the game well with points from Evan Lowry and teenager Liam Seery but the damage was well and truly done by then.

SCORERS – Arles Killeen: Jason Enright 1-5, Sean O’Shea 1-2, Donie Brennan 0-5, Conor Keightley 0-4, Niall O’Rourke 0-2, Brendan O’Shea 0-1 Killeshin: Evan Lowry 0-2, Cathal Brennan 0-4, Paddy Doyle, Michael Doran and Liam Seery 0-1 each

ARLES-KILLEEN: Mick Leigh; Brian Kennedy, James Mahon, Gerry McWey; John Mahon, Joe Mulhare, Enda O’Rourke; Dermot Julian, Niall O’Rourke; Sean O’Shea, Jason Enright, Donie Brennan; Tom McWey, Conor Keightley, Brendan O’Shea. Subs: Evan McDonald for D Brennan (ht)

KILLESHIN: Shane Coakley; Pauric Bolton, Kevin Ryan, Kevin Brennan; Jack Phelan, Arnie Mahon, Paddy Doyle; Evan Lowry, James Davis; Aaron McGrath, Michael Doran, Lee Dunne; Ross Bolger, Brian Lowry, Cathal Brennan. Subs: Liam Seery

Referee: Brendan McCann (Portarlington)


St Joseph’s 2-12 Stradbally 1-13

The 2017 champions and 2018 defeated finalists clashed in Kellyville this afternoon with the former proving victories.

St Joseph’s will face Arles-Killeen in next weekend’s final after a two point win over Stradbally this afternoon.

Stradbally began the tie well and a Benny Lawlor goal had them ahead early on.

But St Joseph’s battled their way back into the game and a Bernard Wheatley goal gave them a 1-8 to 1-6 lead at the break.

Colm Kelly was Stradbally’s chief scorer in the game and his points kept the Little Town in it right to the end.

But the decisive score was the game’s third goal and it came the way of Ciaran Ramsbottom as St Joseph’s moved into the final with two points to spare.

SCORERS – St Joseph’s: Bernard Wheatley 1-2, Ciaran Ramsbottom 1-1, Brian Daly and Conor Kealy 0-3 each, Niall Brennan, Jack Lacey and Ian Dempsey 0-1 Stradbally: Colm Kelly 0-7, Benny Lawlor 1-2, Jack Langton 0-3, John Clancy 0-1

ST JOSEPH’S: Noel Garvan; Jack Lacey, Tom Dunne, Cian Maher; Noel Leech, Willie McDonald, Dean Brophy; Bernard Wheatley, Brian Daly; Mikie Dempsey, Conor Kealy, Ciaran Ramsbottom; Peter Kealy, Enda Butler, Seamus Farrelly. Subs: Niall Brennan for Butler, Oisin Lacey for Maher, Ian Dempsey for Farrelly, Mark George for McDonald

STRADBALLY: Wayne Comerford; Liam Clancy, Ronan Maher, Colm Clancy; Damien Murphy, Liam Knowles, Joe Lacey; Darren Maher, Eoin Buggie; Podge Fitzpatrick, Colm Kelly, John Clancy; Jack Langton, Kilian Mcgannon, Benny Lawlor. Subs: Jamie Devoy for Maher, Charlie O’Brien for Buggie

Referee: Michael Tarpey (Kilcavan)

SEE ALSO – Strong Limerick side see off St Fergal’s Rathdowney in All-Ireland semi-final

Previous articleParking spaces and access issues need to be addressed in Laois town
Next articleHeartbreak for Portlaoise boxer Cekiso at National Final