Home Sport GAA Brophy’s NUIG edge Lacey and Barry’s DCU in Fresher’s All-Ireland football final...

Brophy’s NUIG edge Lacey and Barry’s DCU in Fresher’s All-Ireland football final thriller

NUIG 2-13 DCU 1-15
Fresher’s All-Ireland ‘A’ Football Final

The showpiece event in the footballing calendar for First Year college students in Ireland took place yesterday afternoon with three Laois players involved.

St Joseph’s Dean Brophy, Ballylinan’s Seamus Lacey and O’Dempsey’s Mark Barry all took to the field in Tubberclair, Westmeath for the All-Ireland Fresher’s ‘A’ final.

And it was St Joseph’s wing forward Dean Brophy who was celebrated at the end as his NUIG side prevailed by the tightest of margins.

DCU, who had Lacey at midfield and Barry in at corner forward, were looking to win this competition for the fourth year running.

And in what really was a ding-dong battle throughout, a Mark Barry goal just before half time sent the sides in level at 2-5 to 1-8.

NUIG took the lead early in the second half and managed to maintain it for the remainder of the game.

Mark Barry, who’s tally of 1-6 was the highest individual score on the day, kept chipping away at NUIG’s lead and his last free reduced the arrears to the minimum but the Galway college held on.

Brophy, Lacey and Barry are all eligible to play for Billy O’Loughlin’s Laois U-20 team this year while Barry has already appeared three times for John Sugrue’s Laois seniors.

But it was Dean Brophy who was celebrating last night as his side are now All-Ireland champions.

NUIG: Cian Lankford (Kilavullen, Cork); Dylan Buckley (Claregalway, Galway), Mark Barrett (Ballymore Eustace, Kildare), John Cooke (Crosserlough, Cavan); Gavin Burke (Corofin, Galway), Conor Campbell (Claregalway, Galway), Jack McSharry (Na Cealla Beaga, Donegal); Evan O’Brien (Ballinrobe, Mayo), Gavin Durkan (Castlebar Mitchels, Mayo); Dean Brophy (St. Joseph’s, Laois), Robert Walzer (Salthill/Knocknacarra, Galway), Liam Burke (Ballinrobe, Mayo); Cathal Heneghan (Michael Glaveys, Roscommon), David Kelly (Carbury, Kildare), Tommy Conroy (The Neale, Mayo)

DCU: David O’Hanlon (Na Fianna, Dublin); Daniel Corcoran (Geraldine’s, Louth), Matt Moran (Whitehall Colmcilles, Dublin), Conor Doyle (Clontibret, Monaghan); Oran Doogan (Kildare, Donegal), Neil Matthews (Erin’s Isle, Dublin), PJ Masterson (Abbeylara, Longford); Seamus Lacey (Ballylinan, Laois), Darragh Kirwan (Naas, Kildare), Joe Hagan (Dromard, Longford), James Doran (Na Fianna, Dublin), Lanty Molloy (Naomh Columba, Donegal); Oisin Gallen (Sean Mac Cumhail, Donegal), David Lacey (Na Fianna, Dublin), Mark Barry (O’Dempseys, Laois)

SEE ALSO – New Laois pub all set to open doors for St Patrick’s weekend