Home Sport GAA Portlaoise CBS dethrone Bagenalstown to claim U-16 South Leinster glory

Portlaoise CBS dethrone Bagenalstown to claim U-16 South Leinster glory

Portlaoise CBS 3-13 Bagenalstown 2-12
Top Oil South Leinster U-16 Football ‘C’ Final

Portlaoise CBS were crowned U-16 South Leinster ‘C’ champions following a seven point win over Bagenalstown in Killeshin this afternoon.

The Carlow school were the holders of this competition having won the 2018 edition but Portlaoise CBS snatched it off them following a fantastic first half performance.

The Laois school played with the aid of a gale force wind in the first half and they used it to full effect – gaining a 15 point advantage that would ultimately see them over the line.

While the first half was all about scoring, the second was about defending and winning primary possession something that two players did in spades this afternoon.

Stradbally’s Conor Goode and Park-Ratheniska’s Simon Fingleton won an ocean of ball against the wind at crucial times which stifled Bagenalstown’s attempt to stage a comeback.

Paul Cahillane and Geoff Brennan’s charges flew out of the blocks with DJ White and Cormac Dunne pointing before a slick move involving James Connolly and White saw Paddy Hosey, who scored a hat-trick in the semi final, rattle the net.

White and Hosey followed that with a brace each before the CBS were awarded a penalty after 15 minutes when Paddy Hosey was fouled.

Captain Josh Mulhall took it and although his effort was saved, he then smashed home the rebound.

Cormac Dunne added another point before Bagenalstown got their first point of the game via Darragh Nolan.

CBS keeper Conor Brown did well to keep out Patrick McDonnell’s shot too as Bagenalstown added two more points through Nolan and Oisin Dillon.

But the CBS finished the half strongly with points from Dunne and Hosey before the latter bagged his second goal to make it 3-9 to 0-3 at the break.

The CBS now faced playing into the breeze but they began the new half well with points from James Connolly, Conor Goode and Hosey.

However, as the wind stiffened, Bagenalstown got back on top with Nolan landing a series of frees and then scoring a great goal to cut the gap to seven with fine minutes to play.

Nolan would take his tally to 1-9 before the end but the CBS held on and a late James Connolly free saw them take home the title.

SCORERS – PORTLAOISE CBS: Paddy Hosey 2-4, DJ White 0-3 (one free), Cormac Dunne 0-3, James Connolly 0-2, Josh Mulhall 1-0 BAGENALSTOWN: Darragh Nolan 1-9 (six frees), Eoghan Hickey, Fiach O’Toole and Oisin Dillon 0-1 each

PORTLAOISE CBS: Conor Brown (Portlaoise); Jack Tobin (Portlaoise), Tommy Keegan (Emo), Jamie Preston (Portlaoise); Marc Ramsbottom (Park-Ratheniska), Simon Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska), Ben Dempsey (Portlaoise), Sam Birrane (Portlaoise), Josh Mulhall (Park-Ratheniska); Dan Daly (The Heath), James Connolly (Park-Ratheniska), Conor Goode (Stradbally); Paddy Hosey (Emo), Cormac Dunne (Portlaoise), DJ White (Portlaoise). Subs: Daire McDonald (Timahoe) for Ramsbottom, Gary Whelan (Portlaoise) for Preston, David O’Brien (The Heath) for Tobin (black card), Niall Kirby (The Heath) for Daly

BAGENALSTOWN: Cian Kavanagh; Liam Nolan, Evin Rudkins, Darragh Byrne; Fiach O’Toole, Darragh Nolan, Colm Beck; Jack McCullagh, Patrick McDonnell; Conor Carew, Padraig Nolan, Oisin Dillon; Jake Doyle, Donnacha Murphy, Shane Cowman.

SEE ALSO – Brophy’s NUIG edge Lacey and Barry’s DCU in Fresher’s All-Ireland football final thriller