Home GAA Cumann na mBunscol Rathdowney come up trumps in the Roinn 1 Hurling Shield final

Rathdowney come up trumps in the Roinn 1 Hurling Shield final

Brought to you in association with Roll n Bowl Portlaoise

Portarlington 2-3 Rathdowney 3-7

Roinn 1 Hurling Shield Final

Rathdowney were good valued winners today as they overcame the challenge of Portarlington by seven points to claim the Roinn 1 Shield.

Rathdowney got off to a great start when Oisin Smeaton rattled the net for the opening score of the game, but Jordan Downey was quick to respond with a fine point for Portarlington.

Conor Percy grabbed Rathdowney’s first point of the game, before Downey imposed his skill on the game with two fine individual goals. The first was a powerful driven shot, while the second was a solo run ended with a sublime finish.

Rathdowney were quick to respond when Smeaton grabbed his second goal of the game, followed by a point for Leon Hayes. Then another goal would come when Eoin Bracken’s long range shot sneaked into the near post.

Rathdowney finished the strongest with three unanswered points, two from Jack Delaney and one from Leon Hayes. Rathdowney led 3-5 to 2-1 at the break.

The second half was a tight and tense affair with the first score not coming for nearly ten minutes. It was Jordan Downey who grabbed the first score with a good free, and Eoin McEvoy would bring his side within four with another point soon after.

But that would be as good as it got for Portarlington as Rathdowney showed some class to see out the game with two lovely Eoin Bracken points. The game ended 3-7 to 2-3 as claimed the Roinn 1 Shield title.

Scorers –  Portarlington: Jordan Downey 2-2, Eoin McEvoy 0-1. Rathdowney: Oisin Smeaton 2-0, Eoin Bracken 1-2, Conor Percy 0-1, Jack Delaney 0-2 Leon Hayes 0-2.

PORTARLINGTON: Conor Maher; Darragh Lawrence, Eoin McWey, Craig Weldon; Jordan Downey, Hugo Emerson; Cillian Hoey, Adam Keogh, Ben McCann. Subs: John Cooney, Zack Whelan, Odhran O’Reilly, Lennon Dunne, Kynan Ryan, Jake Nolan, Colm McGee, Bobby McLoughlin, Kolbe Wrafter, Ciaran Connell, Alex Cullen Dunne, Ryan Scully, Ryan Weldon.

RATHDOWNEY: Conor Jordan; Dillon Hanrahan, Leon Hayes, Harry Campion; Eoin Bracken, Ben Stapleton; Oisin Smeaton, Conor Percy, Jack Delaney. Subs: Eoghan Byrne, Gearoid Campion, Daniel Bowe, Cillian Stenson.

SEE ALSO – LIVE BLOG: The final day of Cumann na mBunscol hurling and camogie action