Home Sport GAA Laois U-20 hurlers announce captain, vice-captain and panel ahead of Leinster championship

Laois U-20 hurlers announce captain, vice-captain and panel ahead of Leinster championship

Laois will compete in their first ever Leinster U-20 hurling campaign later this month when they travel to face Kilkenny in the quarter final on June 26.

Manager David Cuddy and his panel have been working hard over the last number of months in preparation for this game.

And now the Castletown native has named Clonaslee’s Liam Senior as captain, Galmoy’s Ryan Murphy as vice-captain and has also confirmed a 29 panel.

Murphy previously played for Laois as a minor in 2017 despite being from Galmoy which is in Kilkenny – however, a rule exists that as the parish is on the boundary of Laois and Kilkenny, while Galmoy play in Kilkenny, the players on the Laois side of it are available to play with Laois.

Camross and The Harps lead the way with six representatives each while Clough-Ballacolla come next with three.

Unlike in football, players who play senior championship are not prohibited from playing U-20 hurling with their county in the same year so Podge Delaney and Eoin Gaughan can play here despite making appearances in the Joe McDonagh Cup.

This is the first year of U-20 hurling after the competition was changed from U-21 at the end of last year.

Laois were drawn in Tier 1 but received a bye straight to the quarter final.

Carlow defeated Antrim last month while Offaly also got the better of Westmeath in the other preliminary game.

Those teams will meet on June 16 with the winner progressing to play Dublin in the other quarter final.

Galway and Wexford await the quarter final winners in the last four. If Laois defeat Kilkenny, they will play Galway in the semi final on July 3.


Eoin Dowling (Camross)
Eoin Gaughan (Camross)
Killian Tiernan (Camross)
Odhran Phelan (Camross)
Oisin Bennett (Camross)
Thomas Palmer (Camross)
Ciaran Comerford (The Harps)
Daniel Comerford (The Harps)
Evan Deegan (The Harps)
Lorcan Fitzpatrick (The Harps)
Padraic Dunne (The Harps)
Podge Delaney (The Harps)
Mark Hennessy (Clough-Ballacolla)
Chris Rafter (Clough-Ballacolla)
Diarmuid Conway (Clough-Ballacolla)
Brandon McGinley (Rathdowney-Errill)
Thep Fitzpatrick (Rathdowney-Errill)
John Maher (Rosenallis)
Conor Cosgrove (Rosenallis)
Liam Senior (Clonaslee) (Captain)
Paddy Hyland (Clonaslee)
Paudie McDonald (Colt)
James Keyes (Colt)
Conor Walsh (Castletown)
Joe Phelan (Castletown)
Ryan Murphy (Galmoy) (Vice-Captain)
Allan Connolly (Ballyfin)
Cormac Rigney (Portlaoise)
John Connolly (Mountmellick)

SEE ALSO – ‘Toothless’ Laois leave manager Sugrue disappointed as they head for Qualifiers

Previous articleIn Pictures: Emotional Willie Aird sets out stall for year as County Council Chairman
Next articleRathdowney ‘asylum seekers’ not sure how long they will remain in Laois
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.