Home Hurling Club Hurling Borris-Kilcotton defeat 14-man Mountmellick to reach Intermediate final

Borris-Kilcotton defeat 14-man Mountmellick to reach Intermediate final

The Laois minor hurling panel has been named

Brought to you in association with First Choice Bathrooms and Tiles

Borris-Kilcotton 0-24 Mountmellick 1-15 
Laois Shopping Centre Intermediate Hurling Championship Semi Final 

Borris-Kilcotton’s second team will face Camross’s second team in this year’s Intermediate hurling final following a six point victory over Mountmellick this evening.

Mountmellick, who were looking to reach their third county final in a row after winning the Junior B and A in the last two years, were not helped by a first half red card and a second half missed penalty.

The sides were level just before half time when Mountmellick wing back Bernard Rochford was shown a straight red card by referee Kieran Bowe after an off the ball incident which was spotted by linesman Ronan Devanney.

Mountmellick battled on with their numerical disadvantage in the second half and were six point down with ten minutes to go when they were awarded a penalty. However, Borris-Kilcotton keeper Mark Hanlon pulled off a great save to deny James Hilliard.

The opening half was largely even with Emmett Jones, Oisin Fleming, Eoin Fitzpatrick and David Scott pointing in the opening quarter for Borris-Kilcotton.

James Hilliard and Donnacha Hartnett pointed for Mountmellick with a great goal by the excellent Hilliard leaving a point between the teams after 20 minutes.

Mountmellick then struck the front with two John Connolly points and another from Hilliard.

However, Rochford would see red before the break as Mountmellick ended the half 0-10 to 1-6 behind following late Borris-Kilcotton points Emmett Jones and Eoin Fitzpatrick.

Borris-Kilcotton made their numerical advantage count early in the second half as they scored six of the first seven points.

Three points from Eoin Fitzpatrick, as well as one for Emmett Jones, John Wall and sub Willie Whelan moved Borris-Kilcotton 0-16 to 1-7 ahead after 40 minutes – Laurence Kenny with Mountmellick’s only score in that time.

James Hilliard and Donnacha Hartnett cut the gap but Borris-Kilcotton went six clear with ten to play thanks to David Scott and Emmett Jones.

Mountmellick were then awarded that penalty when Nigel Murphy was fouled but Borris-Kilcotton keeper Mark Hanlon pulled off a fine save to thwart James Hilliard.

Mountmellick did get the next three points after that penalty via Hilliard (2) and John Connolly but Borris-Kilcotton responded again via John Wall and Enda Fitzpatrick.

A brace of Hilliard frees narrowed the deficit to three as we entered injury time but Borris-Kilcotton would finish strong to win by six.

Enda Fitzpatrick and two John Wall efforts left them well in front at the end and they will play Camross in the final in two weeks’ time.

As for Mountmellick, their season is not over as they will represent Laois in the Leinster Junior hurling championship later in the year.

They will face the winners of the game between the Wicklow and Louth champions in the quarter final.

SCORERS – Borris-Kilcotton: Emmett Jones 0-8 (five frees), Eoin Fitzpatrick and John Wall 0-5 each, Enda Fitzpatrick and David Scott 0-2 each, Willie Whelan and Oisin Fleming 0-1 each Mountmellick: James Hilliard 1-9 (seven frees, one 65), John Connolly 0-3, Donnacha Hartnett 0-2, Laurence Kenny 0-1

BORRIS-KILCOTTON: Mark Hanlon; Enda Parlon, Ben Quinlan, Owen Drennan; Christopher Jones, Bill Meade, Ciaran Finlay; David Scott, DJ Kelly; Eoin Fitzpatrick, Stephen Campion, Willie Abbott; John Wall, Emmett Jones, Oisin Fleming. Subs: Willie Whelan for Abbott (ht), Rob Jones for O Fleming (46), Enda Fitzpatrick for R Jones (47, inj)

MOUNTMELLICK: Cathal Flynn; David Fennelly, Peter Dunne, Eddie Melia; Mick Bermingham, Ian Fennelly, Bernard Rochford; Sean O’Neill, Redmond McEvoy; Barry Mangan, Laurence Kenny, John Connolly; Nigel Murphy, Donnacha Hartnett, James Hilliard. Subs: Karl Donoher for Murphy (55), Seamus Stapleton for McEvoy (59)

Referee: Kieran Bowe (Rathdowney-Errill)

SEE ALSO – Check out all the Laois IHC coverage here