Home Sport GAA First senior decider for Portarlington referee as Laois GAA announce county final...

First senior decider for Portarlington referee as Laois GAA announce county final details

Referee Brendan McCann has been appointed as the referee for this year's Laois SFC final

Portarlington’s Brendan McCann will referee his first Laois Shopping Centre SFC Final when Portlaoise and Killeshin do battle to win the Delaney Cup on Sunday week, October 13.

McCann has been refereeing for the best part of ten years now but hasn’t been chosen for the county’s showpiece game until now.

With his native Portarlington out of the championship it opened the door for his appointment to the final.

It means that McCann will now have refereed all of the main finals in the county having previously taken charge of minor, U-21, junior and intermediate. Last year he oversaw the junior final between Courtwood and Mountmellick.

This year he has taken charge of a number of senior championship games including the Portlaoise v St Joseph’s quarter-final meeting as well as the earlier round games of Arles-Killeen v Crettyard, Stradbally v Emo, Ballyfin v Crettyard, Ballylinan v Arles-Kilcruise (replay) and Ballyroan-Abbey v St Joseph’s.

With Portarlington regulalry providing referees to Laois GAA, he becomes the second man from the club to referee this decade. David Murphy refereed the 2011 final between Portlaoise and Graiguecullen.

Brendan, who won senior titles as a player with Portarlington in 1995 and 2001, will be joined on the day by his linesmen, Maurice Deegan (Stradbally) and his clubmate Clifford Ward , while Des Cooney (St Joseph’s) will be the Sideline Official.

His umpires will be Kevin McCann, Declan McCann, Paul Sweeney and Dean Maher.

The Midlands Park Hotel U-17 Football Championship Final between Ballyroan Abbey and Emo Courtwood will see The Heath’s Seamus Mulhare take charge of the encounter.

Seamus will be joined on the day by his linesmen, Joe Brennan (Crettyard) and Brendan Hickey (Graiguecullen), while JJ Kirby (The Heath) will be the Sideline Official.

Mulhare’s umpires will be Ian Moore, Seamus Lalor, Phil Keogh, Connie Dunne.

Referee of the Year Brendan McCann, Portarlington with Grainne McCann at the Laois GAA Awards in 2010.
Picture: Alf Harvey.

SEE ALSO – Five Talking Points as Killeshin see off Ballyfin to book senior final place