Home Sport GAA First of the new Laois Juvenile Divisional Competitions set for finals tonight

First of the new Laois Juvenile Divisional Competitions set for finals tonight

The first finals of a brand new Laois GAA initiative will take place in the LOETB Centre of Excellence this evening.

Back in October, Laois GAA adopted the concept of the Laois Divisional Competition at senior level into underage in both hurling and football.

U-13 and U-14 hurling and football teams were asked to submit names to take part in the games.

These were then split into North, South, East and West – and, over the course of the last few weeks, they have played against each other in a group phase.

Almost 400 players from every club in Laois have taken part over the last number of weeks.

The competitions started on October 25 and the aim was a create a viable winter competition for players as well as allowing Development Squad mentors the opportunity to see the players in advance of selecting their squads for the 2020 season at U-14 and U-15 levels.

In U-13 and U-14 hurling, players were selected in the following way: If a club sent in eight players, two players were allocated to a particular division, this is not geographically based, the idea was to find the best possible competition.

In U-13 and U-14 Football – players were allocated to a division based on where the clubs are based geographically.

There are six divisional sides for U-13 to cater for the numbers as around 120 players showed interest. Along with North, South, East and West – Mid and Central were added.

LaoisToday sponsored the cup and shields for each of the competitions and the first of those will be presented tonight.

The U-13 finals are down for decision with the Shield between the West and the East at 6.45am and the Cup between North and the South at 8pm.

Check out the full squads below:

LAOIS NORTH: Jake Byrne (Abbeyleix), Jack Hyland (Abbeyleix), Eli Quinn (Abbeyleix), Rick Bannon (Camross), Dion Cuddy (Mountrath), Adam Connolly (Na Fianna), Ryan Gilligan (Na Fianna), Niall Lalor (Na Fianna), Jack O’ Connor (Na Fianna), Ciaran Quinn (Na Fianna), Liam Daly (Park Ratheniska/Timahoe), Eoin Shortall (Park Ratheniska/Timahoe), Eddie Bale (Portarlington), Jordan Downey (Portarlington), Hugo Emerson( Portarlington), Eoin Carter (Raheen Parish Gaels), Mark Hearns (Raheen Parish Gaels), Aiden Grace (Raheen Parish Gaels), Liam Whelan (Raheen Parish Gaels), Charlie Hanrahan (Rathdowney/Errill), James Rooney (Rathdowney/Errill), Cole Brennan (The Harps), Donal Deegan (The Harps)

LAOIS SOUTH: Daniel Bergin (Abbeyleix), Joe Cole (Abbeyleix), Jake Keane (Abbeyleix), Riain Mahoney (Abbeyleix), Stephen O’Donnell (Abbeyleix), Eoghan Prendergast (Abbeyleix), Ben O’Mara (Ballinakill), James Dunne (Clonaslee), Manus Dunne (Clonaslee), Jack Smith (Clonaslee), Finn Lyons (Portarlington), Eoin McEvoy (Portarlington), Ryan Phelan (Portarlington), Seán Kirby (Raheen Parish Gaels), Daniel Thornton (Raheen Parish Gaels), Lorcan Dunne (Rathdowney/Errill), Dean Dowling (Rathdowney/Errill), Darragh Ryan (Rathdowney/Errill), Eoin Dooley (St Pauls), Charlie Hand (St Pauls), Lochlan Curran (The Harps), Mark Downey (The Harps), Rory Walsh (The Harps)

LAOIS EAST: Eoghain Coss (Borris/Kilcotton), Tiernan Kelly (Borris/Kilcotton), Evan Cassin (Clough/Ballacolla), Darragh McEvoy (Clough/Ballacolla), Evan English (Killeshin), Eoin Brennan (Mountrath), Corey Doheny (Mountrath), Caelum O’ Brien (Mountrath), Darrin Dunne (Portlaoise), JP O’ Brien (Portlaoise), Rory Tully (Portlaoise), Rhys Kelly (Park Ratheniska/Timahoe), Michael Shiels (Park Ratheniska/Timahoe), Jack Deegan (Park Ratheniska/Timahoe), Paddy Fitzpatrick (Raheen Parish Gaels), John Onions (Raheen Parish Gaels), Patrick O’ Callaghan (Raheen Parish Gaels), Justin Duggan (The Harps), Ned Duggan (The Harps), Shane Shortall (The Harps), Darragh Townsend (The Harps), Killian Breen (Slieve Bloom)

LAOIS WEST: Cormac Byrne (Abbeyleix), Ethan Robertson (Abbeyleix), Raymond Goode (Castletown), Ethan Neville  (Castletown), Ryan Peters (Castletown), Luca Walshe (Castletown), PJ Daly (Park Ratheniska/Timahoe), Jimmy Norton (Park Ratheniska/Timahoe), Robert Keane (Raheen Parish Gaels), Tommy Ward (Raheen Parish Gaels), Jack Delaney (Rathdowney/Errill), Leon Hayes (Rathdowney/Errill), Evan Bennett (Rosenallis), Peter Doyle (Rosenallis), Oran Gorman (Rosenallis), Aaron Long (Rosenallis), Seamus McEvoy (Rosenallis), Sam Somers (Rosenallis), Sam Thompson( Rosenallis), Callum Keegan (St Pauls), Darragh McEvoy (St Pauls), Cormac Dunne (The Harps), Eoghan Murphy (The Harps)

SEE ALSO – Shards of glass falling on street of Laois town

Previous articleCalls for urgent action of road safety in Laois village
Next articleFrom Rosenallis to The Rock to Rhode and back again – the amazing career of Mark Dunne
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.