Home Sport GAA Whelan and McWey strike late as Heywood claim South Leinster football glory

Whelan and McWey strike late as Heywood claim South Leinster football glory

Heywood CS Picture: Oonagh Maher

Heywood CS 0-10 Tullow CS 0-9
Top Oil Schools South Leinster ‘C’ Senior Football Championship Final

Heywood CS were crowned South-Leinster ‘C’ football champions in dramatic circumstances in O’Hanrahan’s in Carlow this afternoon.

The Ballinakill based school defeated Cross & Passion Kilcullen 10 days ago in the semi final and claimed glory by a solitary point today.

The side, managed by Seamus Kerr, Paddy Gorman and Ronan Byrne, were thankful to two late points which led them to victory.

Heywood were without the influential Enda McWey through injury and his replacement, Lawson Obular, hobbled off with just ten minutes on the clock.

Davin McEvoy opened the scoring while Cathal O’Shaughnessy, who replaced Obular, added to it.

James McWey also landed a brace but Tullow were proving a tough nut to craic and they took a 0-5 to 0-4 lead at half time.

James McWey and Brian Whelan continued scoring for Heywood but as the game entered the closing stages, Tullow led 0-9 to 0-8.

Nevertheless, Heywood had a strong finish with McWey and Whelan kicking late frees to give the Laois school the lead.

This was a real team effort from Heywood and they had to dig deep in the time that remained.

Sub Shaun Fitzpatrick intercepted a lot of ball in the closing stages while another sub, Brian Brennan, went very close to a goal with almost the final kick of the game.

But it wasn’t needed and Heywood now march on to the Leinster semi final.

SCORERS – Heywood CS: James McWey 0-6 (four frees), Brian Whelan 0-2 (frees), Davin McEvoy and Cathal O’Shaughnessy 0-1 each

HEYWOOD: Ruaidhri Neavyn (Spink); Eoin Simms (Spink), Danny Brennan (Ballyroan-Abbey), Eamon Fitzpatrick (Ballyroan-Abbey); James Whelan (The Heath), Mark Kehoe (Spink), James Knowles (St Joseph’s), James Hennessy (Spink), Fionn Holland (The Heath), Davin McEvoy (Ballyroan-Abbey), James McWey (Ballyroan-Abbey), Dylan Cuddy (Ballyroan-Abbey); Odhran Delaney (Ballyroan-Abbey), Brian Whelan (Ballyroan-Abbey), Lawson Obular (Ballyroan-Abbey). Subs: Cathal O’Shaughnessy (Spink) for Obular, Shaun Fitzpatrick (Ballyroan-Abbey) for Hennessy, Brian Brennan (Crettyard) for Delaney

SEE ALSO – See more from John Whelan’s Election Memories series here 

Previous article2002 & 2007 Election Memories: The rise and fall of Parlon and the PDs
Next articleMeet your Candidates: Their pet hates and favourite TV shows