Home News Community New appointments and retirements in Kildare and Leighlin Diocese

New appointments and retirements in Kildare and Leighlin Diocese

From left to right - Fr Paddy Byrne, Fr Pat Hughes, Fr Sean Conlon and Fr Aidrian Carbery

Bishop Denis Nulty has announced a number of appointments and retirements of priests in the Kildare and Leighlin Diocese.

Locally, Fr Paddy Byrne is to take over the parish priest duties in Ballinakill and Knock from Fr Sean Conlon, who is retiring from that role but will remain active in the parish. The appointment leads to a wider brief for Fr Paddy who also has Abbeyleix, Ballyroan, Raheen and Shanahoe to take care of.

Elsewhere, Fr Pat Hughes, who had been in Emo and Portarlington – also encompassing Killenard and Rath – is to become parish priest in Myshall and Clonegal in Carlow.

Fr Hughes role will be taken by Fr Joe O’Neill, who had been on loan to the Archdiocese of Los Angeles.

Bishop Nulty has also announced that Fr Adrian Carbery, who had been parish priest in Kildare town, is to retire but will remain active in the parish.

Fr Adrian is originally from the Ballyadams area and holds the rare distinction of being an active priest to win a Laois senior football championship – as he did with St Joseph’s in 1973.

The new changes take effect from September 4.

“These have been a very difficult few months on all of us, our parishes, our families and personally; none more so than our priests serving at the frontline of parish duty,” said Bishop Nulty in a statement today.

“As we are emerging gently out of lockdown, celebrating Masses with limited congregations reminds us we have to learn to live alongside the Covid-19 virus.

“The demands at parish level are huge, there is the urgency to ‘catch up’ on missed sacramental moments and there is that very real fear of what a ‘second wave’ might mean. And, in the middle of it all, there are diocesan appointments that must be made.

“Changing parish is never easy for priests or their parishioners and changing parish in the middle of a pandemic is a huge ask. I sincerely thank all the priests involved in this year’s appointments.

“The announcement last January of Fr Paul Dempsey’s appointment as Bishop of Achonry was a huge moment for our diocese.

“It is great for Kildare & Leighlin, to see one of our own, with his gifts and potential, recognised by Pope Francis. I wish Paul every grace and blessing and ask you all to remember him as he prepares for his Episcopal Ordination in Ballaghaderreen on August 30.

“I also wish the priests who are retiring from Parish Priests’ duties this year, Fr Seán Conlon and Fr Adrian Carbery, every blessing as they assume less onerous duties in their respective parishes.

“I wish Fr Eddie Kavanagh a full recovery and good health in his retirement. I thank all our priests who have accepted new and additional responsibilities.

“I welcome two new priests who will be joining us – Fr. Robert Petrisor comes from Bucharest in Romania and Fr. Yanbo Chen SVD who was ordained from Maynooth last year.”

The full list of appointments is below.

  • Fr. Ruairí Ó’Domhnaill Adm. Cathedral to become PP Newbridge in succession to Fr. Paul Dempsey, Bishop Elect of Achonry
  • Fr. Liam Morgan PP Naas, Sallins, Two Mile House to become VF Kildare & Leighlin North Deanery, retaining responsibility for Parish Renewal & Development.
  • Fr. Seán Conlon PP Ballinakill to become PE CC Ballinakill, Abbeyleix & Raheen
  • Fr. Adrian Carbery PP Kildare to become PE CC Kildare
  • Fr. Eddie Kavanagh PP Balyna to retire
  • Fr. Paddy Byrne PP Abbeyleix & Raheen to become also PP Ballinakill
  • Fr. Andy Leahy PP Tullow to become PP Kildare
  • Fr. Seán Maher CC Naas, Sallins, Two Mile House to become PP Balyna and Diocesan Scripture Resource Person
  • Fr. Thomas O’Byrne PP Myshall & Clonegal to become Adm. Cathedral & to assist at Bishop’s House
  • Fr. Brian Maguire SPS CC Cathedral to become PP Tullow
  • Fr. Pat Hughes CC Emo & Portarlington to become PP Myshall & Clonegal
  • Fr. Joe O’Neill who was on loan to the Archdiocese of Los Angeles to become CC Emo & Portarlington
  • Fr. Gaspar Habara SVD CC Kildare to become CC Cathedral
  • Fr. Yanbo Chen SVD to reside in Cathedral Presbytery and to assist in the wider area
  • Fr. Robert Petrisor (Archdiocese of Bucharest, Romania) to become CC Naas, Sallins, Two-Mile-House